Skip Navigation
Angelo State University
Department of Visual and Performing Arts

Search Site

Information for:

Concert: ASU Wind Ensemble & Symphonic Band

ASU Auditorium, Mayer Administration Building
The ASU Wind Ensemble and Symphonic Band will present a special joint concert on Friday, April 21, in the ASU Auditorium located inside the Mayer Administration Building, 2601 W. Ave. N.

Titled “Nothing Gold Can Stay,” the concert will begin at 7:30 p.m. and is open free to the public. Each ensemble will perform separately before coming together to close the concert with rousing patriotic selections. 

The Symphonic Band will open the concert by performing “Skydive” by Chris Bernotas, “Kentucky, 1800” by Clare Grundman, and “Ruckus” by Robert Sheldon. The Wind Ensemble will then perform three standards of wind band literature: “Gandalf” from Johann de Meij’s “Symphony No. 1: Lord of the Rings,” Norman dello Joio’s “Scenes from the Louvre,” and an H. Robert Reynolds arrangement of Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Folk Dances.” The Wind Ensemble will also perform a new work by Steven Bryant, “Nothing Gold Can Stay,” that premiered in November 2016. The concert will close with both bands performing “America, the Beautiful” and the national march of the U.S., John Philip Sousa’s “The Stars and Stripes Forever.” 

The Wind Ensemble consists of 38 student musicians playing flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, bassoon, contra bassoon, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, trumpet, horn, trombone, bass trombone, euphonium, tuba, piano, and multiple percussion instruments. It is directed by Dr. Jonathan D. Alvis, assistant professor of music and ASU director of bands. 

The Symphonic Band is comprised of 32 student musicians performing on flute, oboe, clarinet, alto saxophone, trumpet, trombone, euphonium, tuba, and multiple percussion instruments. It is directed by Trent Shuey, instructor of percussion and ASU assistant director of bands.

Download ical event


Visual and Performing Arts