Skip Navigation
Office of Communications and Marketing
Member, Texas Tech University System The Princeton Review - 373 Best Colleges, 2011 Edition

ASU Staff Excellence Awards Nominees

February 14, 2013

Thirty-five staff members have been nominated for Angelo State University’s annual President’s Awards for Staff Excellence, which will be presented during a campus ceremony on Thursday, Feb. 21, in the Houston Harte University Center, 1910 Rosemont Drive.

Four awards are given each spring semester to recognize non-teaching staff members whose job performance exceeded the customary standards or who exhibited outstanding skill or dedication while performing special projects during the preceding calendar year.  An award will be given to one staff member in each of four categories:  Commitment to Excellence, Excellence in Customer Service, Excellence in Innovation and Excellence in Leadership.

All nominees are recognized with a certificate.  The four award recipients will each receive a $1,000 honorarium and a glass trophy.  The presentation ceremony is scheduled for 10 a.m. on Feb. 21 in the University Center’s C.J. Davidson Conference Center.

Nominees by title and department for Commitment to Excellence are: Terry Apodaca, office coordinator, Physics; Maggie Blair, office coordinator, Curriculum and Instruction; Dennis Block, research coordinator/ranch manager, Agriculture; Leonor Constancio, publications assistant, Communications and Marketing; Tonya Drost, administrative assistant, College of Arts and Sciences; Sandy Graves, office coordinator, Athletics; Amanda Guthrie, assistant HSI coordinator, HSI Title V Grant; Brandy Hawkins, director of budget, planning and policy, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management; Helen Johnson, business services assistant, Materials Management; Melody Kelley, office coordinator, Mathematics and Computer Science; Kurtis Neal, HR director, Human Resources; Jeff Riels, database administrator II, Information Technology; Justine Salgado, academic advisor, College of Health and Human Services; Wendy Storms, director of educator support services, College of Education; and Megan Wheeler, associate director of admissions, Admissions.

Excellence in Customer Service nominees are: Nancy Budewig, office coordinator, Physical Therapy; Lesley Casarez, graduate advisor, EPI Center; Carl Halfman, lead HVAC technician, Facilities Management; Jo Nell Harlow, academic advisor, College of Arts and Sciences; Roy Ivey, news and information specialist, Communications and Marketing; Melody Kelley, office coordinator, Mathematics and Computer Science; June Moore, administrative assistant, Community Engagement; Brandy Pacheco, office coordinator, Psychology, Sociology and Social Work; Christine Pruitt, certification advisor, EPI Center; Meredith “Duffy” Sanders, office coordinator, Facilities Planning and Construction; and Megan Word, undergraduate advisor, EPI Center.

Excellence in Innovation nominees are: Kathy Ashton, office coordinator, Institutional Research and Accountability; Bill Ervin, staff therapist, Nursing and Allied Health; Melody Kelley, office coordinator, Mathematics and Computer Science; Jason McCarver, database administrator II, Information Technology; Danny Meyer, university photographer, Communications and Marketing; Linda Ross, executive director, WED Center; and Michelle Vanderzant, academic advisor, College of Arts and Sciences.

Excellence in Leadership nominees are: Curt Braden, technical support manager, Information Technology; Donald Cheek, events manager, Special Events; Tom Nurre Jr., news and information specialist, Communications and Marketing; and Dallas Swafford, associate director, Admissions.

  • News Image

Save and Share


Communications and Marketing

News Archives