Skip Navigation
College of Education
Member, Texas Tech University System The Princeton Review - 373 Best Colleges, 2011 Edition


Standard 4: Diversity


Standard 4. The unit designs, implements, and evaluates curriculum and provides experiences for candidates to acquire and demonstrate the knowledge, skills, and professional dispositions necessary to help all students learn. Assessments indicate that candidates can demonstrate and apply proficiencies related to diversity. Experiences provided for candidates include working with diverse populations, including higher education and P–12 school faculty, candidates, and students in P–12 schools.

Exhibits 4.3

4.3.a Proficiencies related to diversity that candidates are expected to demonstrate through  working with students from diverse groups in classrooms and schools
4.3.b Curriculum components and experiences that address diversity proficiencies (This might be a matrix that shows diversity components in required courses.)  
4.3.c Assessment instruments, scoring guides, and data related to candidates meeting diversity proficiencies, including impact on student learning (These assessments may be included in program review documents or the exhibits for Standard 1. Cross reference as appropriate.)  
4.3.d Data table on faculty demographics (see Appendix A for an example)  
4.3.e Data table on candidates demographics (see Appendix B for an example)  
4.3.f Data table on demographics of P-12 students in schools used for clinical practice (see Appendix C for an example)  
4.3.g Policies and practices, including good faith efforts, for recruiting and retaining diverse faculty  
4.3.h Policies and practices, including good faith efforts, for recruiting and retaining diverse candidates  
4.3.i Policies, procedures, and practices that support candidates working with P-12 students from diverse groups


NCATE Continuous Improvement Model

Institutional Report 

IR: 2012

IR Addendum

I. Overview and Conceptual Framework


Conceptual Framework


II. Unit Standards

Standard 1: Knowledge, Skills &    Dispositions

Standard 2: Assessment System & Unit Evaluation

Standard 3: Field & Clinical Practice

Standard 4: Diversity

Standard 5: Faculty

Standard 6: Unit Governance & Resources


NCATE Web Resources