Skip Navigation
Angelo State University
Staff Senate

Search Site

Information for:

Welcome to Staff Senate

A Message from the Chair…

My how time flies. Another academic year is upon us and I am starting my 4th consecutive year on the Staff Senate. This year I am honored to have been elected to serve as Chair.

Angelo State provides so many opportunities for staff to get involved, develop leadership skills and make a positive impact. One of those opportunities is through the Staff Senate where fostering a spirit of community is one of the primary missions.

As in years past, we will continue to recognize employees that are nominated by their peers for excellence in job performance, and to host campus based activities with the goal of introducing staff to the people and services that make up our campus community. We continually get feedback that without these programs, employees would not have known of all that is happening on the 268 acres that make up Angelo State University.

This year, we are expanding that campus based spirit to the San Angelo community by participating in more events like the Christmas Lights Tour and the HEB Feast of Sharing. The Staff Senate is also working with students from the Communication and Mass Media program to develop an online New Employee Orientation program to introduce new employees to all that ASU has to offer.

The Staff Senate has served as a great opportunity for me to meet and work directly with an awesome, diverse group of people from across this great campus. People that I may not have met otherwise. If this sounds like something you would like to be involved with, join us at our next Staff Senate meeting.

Kent Corder
Staff Senate, Chair

Staff Awards

  • Annual Staff Awards Nominees

    February 9, 2016

    Forty staff members have been nominated for Angelo State University’s annual President’s Awards for Staff Excellence, and 11 staff members have been nominated for the annual Chancellor’s Colonel Rowan Award for Execution.

  • 2014-15 Rodgers Awards Winners

    August 20, 2015

    Ian Brown, Dr. Trey Smith and Joe Muñoz have been named the winners of the 2014-15 Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards honoring outstanding staff, faculty and administrators at Angelo State University.