Skip Navigation

Class Notes Fall 2014

  • W. Bonham Magness Class of 1952

    Dr. W. Bonham Magness, clinical professor at the University of Texas School of Dentistry (UTSD) in Houston, has been honored by the Orthodontic Foundation, which donated $100,000 to UTSD to create the W. Bonham Magness Endowed Professorship in Orthdontics.

    After earning his D.D.S. from UTSD in 1956, Magness spent two years in the U.S. Air Force before returning to the UTSD graduate orthodontic program. He graduated again in 1960 and immediately joined the UTSD faculty.

    Magness completed his pre-dental education at San Angelo College in 1952.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • Landel C. Hobbs Class of 1984

    Landel C. Hobbs has been appointed to the Board of Directors of ValueVision Media Inc., a multichannel electronic retailer. He will serve on the Audit Committee and the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee.

    Currently chief executive officer of the LCH Enterprises consulting firm, Hobbs previously served as chief operating officer of Time Warner Cable and also held executive positions at AOL Tim Warner, Turner Broadcasting System and CSPAN.

    Hobbs earned his Bachelor of Business Administration from ASU in 1984.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • David Etheredge Class of 1985

    David Etheredge, professor of biology at South Plains College, received SPC’s 2014 Faculty Excellence Award for his efforts in teaching, supporting and inspiring students.

    An SPC faculty member since 1988, Etheredge earned his bachelor’s degree in biology from ASU in 1985 and his master’s in biology from ASU in 1987. He also holds an associate degree from Western Texas College.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • Robert P. Hunter Class of 1987

    Dr. Robert P. Hunter has been appointed as chief scientific officer of Parnell Inc., a pharmaceutical company that develops and manufactures innovative animal health solutions. He will direct global sales and marketing teams in 14 countries.

    Prior to joining Parnell, Hunter spent 10 years as a senior research and development director for Elanco, a division of Eli Lilly and Co. He has also taught veterinary pharmacology at Kansas State University and Louisiana State University, and previously worked in the animal health division of Pfizer Inc.

    Hunter earned his ASU bachelor’s degree in animal science in 1987. He also holds a master’s degree from Texas A&M University and a doctorate from Louisiana State.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • Cheryl A. Fuller Class of 1989

    Cheryl A. Fuller has been appointed by Texas Gov. Rick Perry to the Rehabilitation Council of Texas, where she will advocate in the vocational rehabilitation process for people with disabilities.

    An Austin resident, Fuller is assistant commissioner of the Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) Division for Rehabilitative Services and a past director of the Texas Workforce Investment Council.

    Fuller received her ASU bachelor’s degree in 1989.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • Dan M. Harris Class of 1994

    Chief Patrol Agent Dan M. Harris has taken over as commander of the Blaine Sector of the U.S. Border Patrol in Washington.

    A Border Patrol agent since 1995, Harris previously served as deputy chief patrol agent of the Grand Forks Sector covering Minnesota and North Dakota. He is a sixth-generation law enforcement officer who began his career with the San Angelo Police Department.

    Harris earned his ASU bachelor’s degree in psychology in 1994. He also holds a master’s degree in joint campaign planning and strategy from the National Defense University’s Joint Forces Staff College in Norfolk, Va.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • Jennifer Peirson Class of 1994

    Dr. Jennifer Peirson has been named principal of McKinney Boyd High School, where she had served as associate principal since 2008.

    After earning her ASU bachelor’s degree in special education, Peirson stayed to earn her Master of Education in 1994. She began her teaching career at San Angelo Central High School and has also held teaching and administrative positions at South Garland High School, Webb Middle School in Garland and Lakeview Centennial High School.

    Peirson also holds a doctorate from Texas A&M University-Commerce.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • Tara Salisbury Class of 1996

    Tara Salisbury has been named the Education Service Center Region 15 Elementary Teacher of the Year for the 2013-14 school year and is now in the running to be named Texas Elementary Teacher of the Year.

    A third-grade language arts teacher at Grape Creek Elementary School, Salisbury was also named the 2013-14 Grape Creek Intermediate Teacher of the Year. She earned her bachelor’s degree in early childhood education at ASU in 1996 and her master’s in school administration in 2012.

    Salisbury is married to Dr. Micheal Salisbury, chair of the ASU Department of Agriculture.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • Jason Hewitt Class of 1997

    Dr. Jason Hewitt was named the chief academic officer for secondary schools in the Bastrop Independent School District in May 2016. He finished out the 2015-16 school year as Bastrop HS principal.

    Posted Fall 2016

    More Notes

  • Kayla Hons Class of 2005

    Kayla Hons has been promoted to assistant vice president of consumer lending at First Financial Bank in Mineral Wells. She joined First Financial Bank in 2007 as a new accounts representative and has since also served as a loan assistant, executive loan assistant and compliance manager.

    Hons earned her Bachelor of Science at ASU in 2005 and her Master of Business Administration in 2007.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • Antuan Washington Class of 2010

    Antuan Washington, interim head track and field coach and director of recreational sports at Sul Ross State University, was presented the first Lobo Leadership Award at Sul Ross’ annual faculty-staff awards program.

    Washington joined the Sul Ross coaching staff in 2013 after seven years at ASU working in University Recreation. He earned his Bachelor of Business Administration at ASU in 2010 and his Master of Education in 2012.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • Cody Bridges Class of 2012

    Cody Bridges is the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent for Mason County. He previously served as the AgriLife Extension agent in Schleicher County.

    Bridges earned his bachelor’s degree in animal science/range and wildlife management at ASU in 2012. He also holds an associate degree in golf course and landscape technology from Western Texas College.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • Derrick Drury Class of 2013

    Derrick Drury has been named the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent for Medina County. He previously served as an agricultural science teacher at Marion High School and Medina High School and as a farm manager at Fleming Livestock in San Angelo.

    Drury earned his bachelor’s degree in agricultural science and leadership at ASU in 2013.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • Jason Mangold Class of 2013

    Jason Mangold is the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent for 4-H and youth development in Bastrop County. Prior to joining AgriLife Extension, he was an agricultural science teacher at Comanche High School.

    Mangold was also a student worker at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in San Angelo while earning his bachelor’s degree in agricultural science and leadership at ASU in 2013.

    Posted Fall 2014

  • Brandi Barber Class of 2014

    Brandi Barber has been named the first-ever head volleyball coach at Klondike High School. She graduated from ASU in May with a Bachelor of Science in teacher education.

    A Sterling City native, Barber was a regular on the ASU Dean’s List and was a member of the Kappa Delta Pi international honor society for education.

    Posted Fall 2014