Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

January 2008

Release Date: January 10, 2008

ASU Intramural Team National Runner-Up

Angelo State University intramural flag football team “The Invisibles” fell just short of a championship, placing second at the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association (NIRSA) National Flag Football Championships held Jan. 3-5 at the University of Texas-Dallas.

In the championship game of the Co-Rec Division, The Invisibles led for most of the contest until an interception followed by a quick touchdown late in the fourth quarter sparked a 20-10 come-from-behind victory for the University of North Carolina-Charlotte.

ASU’s Janna Henderson was named the Co-Rec Division Female MVP, while teammates Nicole Gilbert and Blake McCarthy garnered All-America honors. Other team members are Boyd Brotherton, Reggie Ham, Nick LaFave, Laryssa Hise, Jerrell Jones, Rob Londerholm, Danielle Low, Whitney Monzingo, Apolynne Pilapil, Jason Reynolds, John Reynolds and Joe Walts.

Several other ASU teams competed at the tournament, including the Spartans in the Co-Rec Division and the Roos and Iron Outlaws in the Men’s Division.

ASU was also represented by the Wolfpac men’s team at the Pontiac American Collegiate Intramural Sports (ACIS) Flag Football National Championships held Dec. 28-31 at the University of New Orleans.

The Wolfpac advanced to the quarterfinals of the tournament and had several members bring home individual honors. Jared Matlock was named first team All-America on offense, with Tyson Carter and Matthew Carter earning second team All-America status on defense.