Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

June 2008

Release Date: June 3, 2008

ASU Students Awarded National Space Scholarships

Two Angelo State University students have been awarded prestigious national Columbia Crew Memorial Undergraduate Scholarships by the Texas Space Grant Consortium (TSGC) for the 2008-09 academic year.

Katherine Eyre, a senior math major from Kaufman, and Bobby L. Hancock, a junior physics major from Brownfield, will each receive $1,000 from the TSGC. Only about 40 students nationwide receive the scholarships each year.

The scholarship program was established by the TSGC and the Aviation and Space Foundation of Texas in partnership with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) in memory of the seven Space Shuttle Columbia astronauts who were killed during shuttle re-entry on Feb. 1, 2003.

The scholarships are intended to recognize high-quality students and encourage their consideration of graduate studies in science, technology, engineering and mathematics which will ultimately lead to careers in space-related fields. They stress excellence in academics, participation in space education projects, participation in research projects and exhibited leadership qualities.