Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

May 2008

Release Date: May 7, 2008

ASU College of Business Bestows Honors at First Annual Ceremony

A group of 12 faculty, staff and students became the first to have their named added to the new Angelo State University College of Business Wall of Honor during the college’s first annual Honors Ceremony earlier this month.

Undergraduate student honors went to Tinashe P. Chiwanga, accounting; Lindsey V. Mann, finance; Gabriela V. Ellis, management information systems; Allison P. Jansa, marketing; Luis A. Leija, general business; Whitney L. Meeks, international business; and Brittani N. Teague, management. Graduate student honors went to Jacklyn I. Escobedo, M.B.A., integrated accounting.

David A. Erickson, director of the ASU Small Business Development Center, earned staff honors while faculty honors went to Dr. William B. McKinney for teaching, Dr. Sudhir K. Chawla for intellectual contributions and Dr. F. David Alexander for professional service.

The College of Business Wall of Honor is located on the second floor of the ASU Rassman Building, 2222 Dena Drive.

Also honored at the dinner were Jessica Dingus, this year’s Distinguished Student in the College of Business, and accounting professor Dr. Norman Sunderman, the Outstanding Teaching Award winner from the Student Government Association.

Chiwanga was recognized for winning an award from the local chapter of the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants and Teague received the annual scholarship key from the Delta Sigma Pi business fraternity. ASU’s Air Force ROTC Detachment 847 was recognized for winning the 2007 Southwest Region Right of Line Award and the “Excellent” rating it received in December from the Air Education and Training Command Inspector General Team.

The College of Business includes the departments of Accounting, Economics and Finance; Management and Marketing; and Aerospace Studies with ROTC Detachment 847. It is also home to the Small Business Development Center, International Trade Office and Center for Economic Education.