Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

November 2008

Release Date: Nov. 4, 2008ASU Logo

ASU Students to Attend Nationwide Physics Congress

Eleven students from Angelo State University’s Department of Physics will attend the 2008 Sigma Pi Sigma Quadrennial Congress Nov. 7-9 in Chicago.

Sigma Pi Sigma is the national Physics Honor Society and its national congress is being hosted by the American Institute of Physics and Fermilab, a national science laboratory of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science. The congress is only held every four years and is considered the premier event for undergraduate physics students. The theme of this year’s congress is “Scientific Citizenship.”

Each of the 11 ASU students attending will also be presenting original research or outreach work. Additionally, Jennifer Hendryx of ASU will represent the physics students of Texas in her role as associate zone councilor for Zone 13 of the national Society of Physics Students. Dr. Toni Sauncy, ASU associate professor of physics, will also attend in her capacity as zone councilor for Zone 13.

Other ASU students attending will be Kunal Bhatnagar, Daniel Bullock, Lacy Estes, Logan Hancock, Steven Jackson, James Matthews, Allison McMahon, Douglas Parsons, Henry Schreiner III and Daniel Taylor.