Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

November 2008

Release Date: Nov. 10, 2008ASU Logo

ASU Intramural Flag Football Teams Win Regional Titles

Two Angelo State University Recreation Department intramural flag football teams won regional championships during a weekend tournament in Nacogdoches after advancing through pool play and the single-elimination competition.

Wolfpac won the men’s championship with a 21-12 win over a University of Texas-San Antonio team. The Invisibles took the co-recreational title by defeating a Texas A&M-Corpus Christi team, 44-33, at the National Campus Championship Series tournament, which is under the auspices of the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association (NIRSA).

Both teams will travel to the NIRSA national championship tournament at the University of South Florida Dec. 28-30. The teams won paid entry fees to the national tourney and $750 each.

Wolfpac’s Jared Matlock was the most valuable player in the men’s division, and teammates Jakody Huckaby and Jaryd Salazar were all-tournament.

The Invisibles’ Rob Londerholm was the male MVP and Apolynne Pilapil was the female MVP in the co-rec division. Witney Monsingo and Alysha Currie were all-tournament honorees.

In the women’s division, Danielle Low of the Born to be Famous squad was named to the all-tournament team.

ASU’s Recreation Department sent eight teams to the event. All of them advanced through pool play and were seeded in the tournament, according to Bradley Petty, UREC director at ASU.