Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

October 2008

Release Date: Oct. 2, 2008ASU Logo

ASU Alumni Association Hosting Annual Homecoming Dinner

The Angelo State University Alumni Association will host its annual Wells Fargo Homecoming Dinner, honoring distinguished alumni and faculty, on Friday, Oct. 17, in the ASU Houston Harte University Center.

The dinner will begin at 6 p.m. Oct. 17 in the University Center’s C.J. Davidson Conference Center and is open to the public. Tickets are $25 each or $300 for a reserved table for eight and are available from the Alumni Association. Ticket reservations will be taken until Oct. 9 or until all seats are filled. Complimentary valet parking and a cash bar will be provided.

During the event program, Jerry Vandergriff, former San Angelo College football player and ASU head coach, will be honored as the 2008 Distinguished Alumnus. Texas State Rep. Drew Darby, Texas State Sen. Robert Duncan and Tech University System Chancellor Kent Hance will be named Honorary Alumni. Dr. Michael Patyrak, Class of 2002, and Col. Ernie Felts, Class of 1976, will be recognized as the Distinguished Carr Alumnus and Distinguished ROTC Alumnus, respectively. Carrol Payne Nokes, a San Angelo College alumna, will be honored as the Golden Ex of the Year.

Also recognized will be Dr. C. Varren Parker Jr. as Outstanding Retired Faculty Member. The 2008 Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award winners by college are Dr. Mary Ellen Hartje, Liberal and Fine Arts; Dr. Gil Engdahl, Sciences; Dr. Tom Bankston, Business; and Dr. Susan Keith, Education.

For more information and/or tickets to the dinner, call 942-2122 or go online to