Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

October 2008

Release Date: Oct. 24, 2008ASU Logo

ASU Physics Students Nab Awards at Regional Conference

Four Angelo State University physics students brought home research presentation awards from the fall joint meeting of the Texas and Four Corners sections of the American Physical Society (APS), Texas Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) and Zones 13 and 16 of the Society of Physics Students (SPS).

Only the top six undergraduate and graduate students out of more than 100 contest entries were recognized. ASU seniors James Matthews, Allison McMahon and Henry Schreiner III and junior Kunal Bhatnagar each received $150 for placing among the top six undergraduates.

Matthews was recognized for his presentation on “Characterization and Design of Two-Axis Bi-Directional Microstages;” McMahon for her presentation “Construction of a Cost-Effective Optical Tweezers for Manipulation of Birefringent Materials Using Circularly Polarized Light;” Schreiner for his work on “Electronic Structure Calculations of NiTi Based Ternary Systems;” and Bhatnagar for his presentation “Interfacial Barrier Height by Internal Photoemission for Metal/Oxide/Semiconductor Structure.”

Also, ASU alum Eddie “Trey” Holik was recognized in the graduate student category for his presentation “A New Design and Model for Plasma Spraying with an Inductively Coupled RF Plasma Torch.” Holik was co-winner of the Presidential Award as the top student in his class when he graduated from ASU in 2006. He is pursuing his master’s degree at Texas A&M.

The student presentations were judged based on student contribution to the project, scientific impact of the research, mastery of subject, clarity of presentation, delivery and graphics.

In all, 13 ASU students attended the conference Oct. 17-18 at the University of Texas-El Paso with the Angelo State SPS chapter acting as co-hosts of the event. The various organizations represented cover a region that includes Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Texas and Utah.

Other ASU students attending were Sterling Beeson, Daniel Bullock, Lacy Estes, Steve Jackson, Logan Hancock, Shivakumar Surendranath, Daniel Taylor, Jeff Torres and Alexy Volkov.