Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

April 2011

Release Date: April 25, 2011ASU Logo

ASU Students Make 2011 Who’s Who List

Angelo State University will be represented by 55 students in the 2011 edition of Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

The students will be honored at a reception and presentation ceremony at 10 a.m. on Friday, May 6, in the Houston Harte University Center, 1910 Rosemont Drive.

An ASU committee composed of faculty, staff and representatives of registered student organizations nominates students for the elite list.  Honorees are selected for excellence in the classroom, campus and community service, and leadership in extracurricular activities.

Students chosen for the 2011 list come from more than 2,800 institutions of higher learning in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and some foreign nations. The list has been published since 1934.

The ASU honorees, listed with their major by hometown are:

San Angelo: Erica Adkins, international business; Shaheena Anene, biology; Ashley Bruner, curriculum and instruction; Richard Corbitt, biology; Sarah Dalrymple, accounting; Whitney Dane, integrated accounting; Paula Galloway, biology; Amanda Hicks, biology; Melanie Highsmith, history; Lisa Highsmith, history; Alexandra Hopkins, English; Morgan Jackson, elementary education; Margaret Kiser, interdisciplinary studies; Kambri Kretschmer, mathematics; Ashton McDowell, biology; Sarah McKenzie, mathematics; Morrissey Pickles, history; Ben Sergeant, kinesiology; Lance Smith, accounting; Savanna Warick, biology; Dara White, biology; and Grant Wilde, mathematics

Abilene: Jessica Crow, early childhood-6th grade with special education; and Douglas Daye, social work.

Alpine: Emily Hendryx, mathematics.

Andrews: Lendon Partain, biology.

Arlington: Marianne Glutz, psychology.

Aspermont: James Reid, mathematics/computer science.

Austin: Lauren Guthrie, psychology.

Bala Cynwyd, Pa.: Kelly Gross, biochemistry.

Big Spring: Sarah Bartlett, biology.

Brownfield: Katelynn Frei, ecology/evolutionary biology.

Burleson: Jonathan Avera, management; and Kassie Darby, communication.

Carthage: Cathryn Rittenberry, accounting.

Castell: Aaron Perkins, mathematics.

Cibolo: Alisha Bailey, music.

Cisco: Alicia Cunningham, biology.

Coahoma: Ashley Martin, mathematics.

Coleman: Miles Romine, history.

Del Rio: Javier Melendez, psychology.

Eola: Hector Romo, biology.

Lohn: Samantha Johnstone, recreation/fitness administration.

Lubbock: Cydnee Prince, psychology.

Marion: Eric Mahler, mathematics.

Marlin: Ryan Merryman, mathematics.

Mason: Hollie Laqua, biology.

Midland: Megan Ellis, mass media.

New Braunfels: Megan Schaffer, English.

Pampa: Heather Dills, mathematics.

Red Rock: Jerry Shimek, animal science.

Round Rock: Haleigh Smith, biology.

Roswell, N.M.: Elizabeth Black, kinesiology.

San Antonio: Mary Halcomb, psychology; and Ravi Patel, biology.