Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

July 2001

Release Date: July 5, 2001

Additional Carr Scholarships Awarded at ASU

Angelo State University has awarded an additional 67 Carr Academic Scholarships for the 2001-02 academic year to outstanding high school graduates in the Class of 2001.

The newly awarded scholarships range in value from $1,500 to $6,000 and go to students representing communities throughout Texas as well as in Arizona and Bulgaria. The new scholarship awards bring to almost 400 the number of Carr Academic Scholarships going to incoming ASU freshmen for the upcoming academic year.

During the current year more than 1,000 students from throughout Texas and the nation, as well as numerous foreign countries are attending ASU on Carr Academic Scholarships. As a general rule, to qualify for Carr Academic Scholarships, entering freshmen must rank in the top 15 percent of their class and present either a combined math and verbal score of 1140 on the SAT I or a composite score of 25 on the ACT.

The scholarships may be renewed annually by the university for students who maintain the required academic record. During a four-year course of undergraduate study at ASU, Carr Academic Scholarships can be worth from $6,000 to $24,000.

The scholarship program at Angelo State is supported by a growing multi-million dollar trust established by the late Robert G. and Nona K. Carr of San Angelo.

The following list includes new award recipients for 2001-02, as of June 30:

Abilene: Billy W. Boone, Sara J. Merrick and Lori C. Stuart.

Baird: Heather N. Kerbow.

Big Spring: Michael A. Hadley.

Blackwell: Katrina L. Buckner.

Cherokee: Josiah P. Marceaux.

Clyde: Leland J. Evans.

Coahoma: Leslie D. Martin.

Colorado City: Samantha R. Miller.

Comstock: Brenda R. Ibarra.

Crane: Daisy Suarez.

Early: Rachael E. Hall.

El Paso: Olivia Casarez.

Graham: Sabrina A. Jaramillo.

Killeen: Jennifer N. Boone and Matthew B. Whiteside.

Knox City: Aaron Sanchez.

Marble Falls: Matthew T. Fields.

Mason: Meagan L. Davis.

McCamey: Arianne M. Menefee.

Menard: Aaron J. Kothmann.

Midland: Laurie B. Johansen, Crystal C. Lange, Blake Leggett and Chelsea M. Owens.

Needville: Juanita L. Urbanski.

O'Donnell: Whitney B. Hughes and Miranda C. Popnoe.

Pecos: Kalyn D. Lara.

Perryton: Diana Estrada.

Port Lavaca: Byanka L. Rivera.

Post: Jennifer M. Morgan.

Rankin: Steven C. Smith.

Robert Lee: Maria A. Arellano, Amber M. Freeman and Gina M. Hernandez.

Rochelle: Gina K. Baker.

San Angelo: Daniel J. Backlund, Felipe Cuellar, Crystal N. Epperson, Mandi A. Fuessel, Andrea C. Gillett, Lindsay J. Hinson, Bradley J. Jones, Sean M. Long, Robert T. Martinez, Kathryn A. Moore, Stacie D. Pool, Ian J. Robinett, Kristine A. Schoeppler and Solomon M. Southall.

San Antonio: Brenda E. Cervera.

Sedona, Ariz.: Amber N. Stewart.

Seguin: Heather R. Berryman.

Smyer: Julie A. Keeth.

Snyder: Austin G. Haire.

Snyder: Kyle R. McClendon and Mark G. Medley.

Sofia, Bulgaria: Hristo Zhelyazkov.

Sonora: Christopher M. Green and Ben M. Torres.

Sweetwater: Sharon M. Ballenger.

Tuscola: Brent L. Hastings.

Waco: Mark W. Haley.

Wall: Chelsea J. Strube.

Water Valley: Cary D. Freeman.