Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

November 2001

Release Date: November 21, 2001

ASU Alumni Leadership Summit: From Students to Role Models

Twenty-three alumni, who have gone on to stellar careers in business, industry and education, will return to Angelo State University Tuesday and Wednesday, Nov. 27-28, to participate in the first Alumni Leadership Summit and to share their successes with students and faculty.

"Sometimes it is easy to overlook the success of our graduates," said Sande Harrison, ASU director of alumni relations, "because they are so widely dispersed across the country and throughout the world and because they are involved in so many fields.

"We think their successes make them good role models for our students but also for San Angelo," she said. "Further, their accomplishments reinforce the value of an ASU education because it can truly take you anywhere."

The Alumni Leadership Summit is being organized by the ASU Alumni Association in conjunction with the university. The summit is being presented by Cox Communications with travel support from summit sponsor Continental Airlines.

Participants will include Janis Carter Arnett, class of 1985 and 1988, lobbyist, legislative and government affairs, McGinnis, Lochridge and Kilgore, LLP, Austin; Marsha Multer Arvedson, '74, manager, volume products, polyethylene technology, ExxonMobil Chemical Co., Baytown; John W. Blumentritt, Class of '83, commander, 50th Education Squadron, U.S. Air Force Academy, Monument, Colo.; Blaine Brunson, '96, chief clerk, Texas Senate Finance Committee, Buda; and Barry Cooper '84, '92, vice president, Cargill, Inc., Edmond, Okla.

Dale Dodson, '67, chairman of the board/chief executive officer, Dalcor Companies, Addison; Arnold Garcia Jr., '73, editorial page editor, Austin American-Statesman, Austin; Tim Gette, '68, chief operating officer, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas; Oscar Gomez, '68, vice president, Office of Diversity and Business Compliance, Verizon, Irving; Rick Green, '91, state representative, District 46, State of Texas, Austin; Kelby Hagar, '91, vice president, Hunt New Business Development, L.P., and former owner,, Dallas; and Dan Herrington, '79, assistant vice president, Desktop Product Management, USAA, San Antonio.

Also, Walter D. Juliff, '76 and '81, assistant director of college scouting, Dallas Cowboys, Irving; Mark Low, '78, partner, Arthur Anderson LLP, Dallas; Neill McClung, '74, real estate developer, Red Oaks Realty, Inc., Midland; Mike Millegan, '80, '82, senior vice president, Verizon, Irving; Joshua K. Owusu, P.E., '74, chemical engineer, Manager Feedstock/Risk Management, Alon USA, LP, Dallas; and Jennifer Perotti, '91, senior cognitive engineer, Eastman Kodak, Pittsford, N.Y.

Renay San Miguel, '82, CNN Headline News, Atlanta; Col. J.P. Sosa, '76, deputy chief, U.S. Office of Military Cooperation, Kuwait; John Tyler, '72, assistant professor of education, economics, and public policy, Brown University, Providence, R.I.; Melody Wilkinson, '85, attorney, Cantey & Hanger, LLP, and past president, Texas Young Trial Lawyers Association, Fort Worth; and Donnie Young, '70, president, Pharmaceutical Sourcing Group Americas, a Johnson & Johnson Co., Bridgewater, N.J.

The honorary chairmen for the Alumni Leadership Summit are Bob Gregory of Austin and F.L. "Steve" Stephens of San Angelo. Alumni Co-chairmen are Mark Stevenson and David Stinnett, both of San Angelo.

The university Coordinating Committee is made up of Harrison; Jennifer Evett, alumni relations liaison; Drex Vincent, president, ASU Alumni Association; Dr. Michael Butler, dean, College of Business and Professional Studies; Dr. Robert K. Hegglund, professor of management; Dr. E. James Holland, dean, College of Liberal and Fine Arts; Dr. David H. Loyd, dean, College of Sciences; Dr. John J. Miazga Jr., dean, School of Education; Beep Cain, director of development; Purnell Curtis, multimedia support specialist; Jay Halbert, director, physical plant; Dr. Cheryl Hines, associate professor of education; and Greg Pecina, director, University Center.

For additional information on the ASU Alumni Leadership Summit, contact the ASU Alumni Association at (325) 942-2122.