Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

May 2003

Release Date: May 1, 2003

Awards, Scholarships Announced by ASU Physics Department

The Angelo State University Department of Physics honored five students and a faculty member at the final meeting of the school year for the Society of Physics Students (SPS).

Alana J. Oliver of San Angelo received the Jody Minnick SPS Outstanding Senior Award. Junior Karen T. Robertson of Midland was honored as the most improved physics major. She also received the $200 Louis Cellum Memorial Scholarship in Physics.

Daniel Backlund and Brian McCoy, both of San Angelo, each earned a $200 Wilton J. Brown Scholarship in Physics. Senior Rachael L. Ingley of Brownwood received the $1,200 Kailas J. and Becky Rao Scholarship in Physics.

All of the scholarships were granted for the 2003-04 academic year. The scholarships and student awards were determined by ASU's physics faculty.

The SPS named Dr. Toni D. Sauncy, assistant professor of physics, as the outstanding physics teacher for 2002-03.