Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

May 2003

Release Date: May 8, 2003

Retiring Dean Holland Honored by TSUS Board of Regents

In recognition of Dr. E. James Holland's 36 years of service to Angelo State University, the Texas State University System (TSUS) Board of Regents meeting in San Angelo Wednesday and Thursday voted to rename the University Symposium on American Values in his honor.

Henceforth, the annual fall symposium will be known as the "E. James Holland Symposium on American Values." The board also granted Holland the title of "Distinguished Professor of Government Emeritus."

In a resolution unanimously adopted in his honor, the board commended Holland for his impact on "both the spirit and intellect of thousands of students." The resolution said Holland "by virtue of his genuine interest in his students and colleagues, his commitment to high academic standards and professionalism, his personal qualities of honesty, integrity, loyalty and honor, his dedication to the highest ideals in teaching, scholarship and service, and his perseverance, has made Angelo State University a better place to work and learn."

In other business, the board increased ASU's designated tuition rate from $37 to $40 per semester credit hour to provide additional support for education and general functions in the wake of state budget cuts. The board also increased the university technology charge from $11 to $12 per semester credit hour. Regents authorized an increase in the installment fee to $30 per installment for those who opt to pay their bills on the installment plan. The regents also adopted a flat rate recreational sports fee of $20 per semester or $10 per summer term per student. All fees will be effective with the fall semester.

Additionally, the regents approved $32,236 in budget adjustments, bringing the ASU's current budget to $67,559,402.

Board members also authorized an animal business major within the bachelor of science in agriculture, effective with the 2004 fall semester, and modified the admission requirement for the master of physical therapy degree from a minimum 90 semester credit hours to completion of a four-year baccalaureate degree, effective for the class entering in the summer of 2006. The board also authorized the addition of 12 classes and the deletion of one class from ASU's offerings.

The board authorized ASU to enter into contracts with Valley Vending Co. of San Angelo to provide vending machine snacks on campus and with SSC Services for $742,915 to provide custodial services beginning Aug. 12 through Aug. 31, 2004.

In personnel matters, the board authorized the appointment of Dr. Stan Eitzen as the AEP-West Texas Utilities Distinguished Visiting Professor for the fall semester. Regents also approved tenure for Larry M. Guerrero, Steven A. Harper, Jeffrey B. Schonberg, John M. Wegner, Jr., Anne M. Edwards, Paul K. Swets and Kathryn E. Artnak. The board okayed promotions in academic rank for Jeffrey Boone, Laurence Jones, Judith Hakes and Nancy Hadley.

Finally, the board accepted $196,991 in gifts to the university.

The TSUS board serves as the governing body for ASU as well as Lamar University, Lamar Institute of Technology, Lamar State College-Orange, Lamar State College-Port Arthur, Sam Houston State University, Southwest Texas State University, Sul Ross State University and Sul Ross State University-Rio Grande College.