Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

November 2003

Release Date: November 17, 2003

ASU Faculty, Staff Earn Awards for Decades of Service

Forty Angelo State University faculty and staff, including 13 with a quarter century or more employment with the university, were honored with Service Awards during ceremonies Monday night in the Houston Harte University Center on the ASU campus.

ASU President James Hindman thanked the 40 honorees for their loyalty and dedication to ASU and presented all with awards representing their years of service to the university.

Johnny M. Bailey of Mathematics and Shirley Morton of Advancement and University Relations received 35-Year Service Awards and Robert V. Prestiano of Art and Music received a 30-Year Service Award.

Recipients of 25-Year Service Awards were Kathleen L. Brasfield, Kinesiology/Athletics; Gloria A. Duarte, English; Crosby W. Jones, Biology; Sandy S. Love, Psychology and Sociology; Michael W. Martin, News and Information; Ned E. Strenth, Biology; Norman A. Stroh, English; Edward C. Surface, Art and Music; Catherine W. Talley, Mathematics; and Ubil G. Torres, Physical Plant Operations.

The 20-Year Service Awards went to Molly J. Allison, Nursing; Kurt H. Buerger, Accounting, Economics, and Finance; Marilyn F. Bumann, Business and Professional Studies; David S. Marsh, Biology; Shirley Richardson, Library; and Elvia N. Sanchez, Controller.

Recipients of 15-Year Service Awards were F. David Alexander, Management and Marketing; Tom F. Badgett, Management and Marketing; Audrey D. Chaumont, Residence Life; Robert C. Dowler, Biology; Roger D. Gammons, University Police; Ralph Garcia, Physical Plant Operations; Roberto M. Garza, Government; Martha C. Hicks, Residence Life; Yzelda V. Hinojosa, Academic and Student Affairs; D. Pat Maddox, Accounting, Economics and Finance; Barbara J. Melton, Student Financial Services; Troi G. Middleton, Computer Science; Robert R. Mowrer, Psychology and Sociology; and Patricia H. Turner, Communications, Drama, and Journalism.

Recipients of 10-Year Service Awards were Diana M. Aguero, Library; Linda F. Brasher, Registrar's Office; William B. Davidson, Psychology and Sociology; Linda L. Ferguson, Nursing; Nancy J. Hadley, Education; F. Pollie Lux, Nursing; and William A. Montgomery, Psychology and Sociology.