Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

April 2005

Release date: April 27, 2005

ASU Presidential Award, Distinguished Student Awards Announced for 2005

Lori Caroline Megan Stuart, a senior biology major with a minor in chemistry, has been named recipient of Angelo State University's 2005 Presidential Award while four other ASU students have been selected for 2005 Distinguished Student Awards from their respective college or school.

Stuart of Abilene will be recognized at ASU's May 14 commencement exercises along with the four Distinguished Student Award honorees representing each ASU college or school. The Distinguished Student Award recipients are: Akash Praveen Zaveri of San Angelo, College of Business and Professional Studies; Sabrina Kay Roberts of Clyde, College of Liberal and Fine Arts; Paul Christian Dawkins of San Angelo, College of Sciences; and Roberta M. Lasly, a San Angelo resident who graduated in December, School of Education.

The award recipients will be honored during a public reception at 1:30 p.m. Monday, May 2, in the University Center Theater in the Houston Harte University Center. ASU President James Hindman will present plaques to each of the winners and nominees.

Recipients are selected from nominees by each academic department and are chosen for the honors on the basis of outstanding academic performance and accomplishments in extracurricular and service activities. One student is selected from each college or school for the Distinguished Student Award.

Finalists for those awards included Ryan Crowson, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Cory Engwicht, Department of Management and Marketing; Annette Henry, Department of Education; Matthew Swinney, Department of Physics; and Penelope Tigue, Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance.

Presidential Award-winner Stuart maintained a 3.827 grade point average (GPA) and received several scholarships, including the Carr Academic Scholarship, the Woolworth Scholarship, and the San Angelo Community Medical Center Auxiliary Scholarship during her ASU undergraduate studies. Her research presentation at the 2004 Tri Beta Convention won both the Best Paper Award and the Frank G. Brooks Award for Excellence and earned her an invitation to the national convention where her project placed second against a national field representing some of America's premiere research institutions.

Stuart's strong record of extracurricular and community service activities earned her selection to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. The reigning Miss ASU, she also served as President of Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society. Stuart was an active member of Alpha Chi National Honor Society, Sigma Phi Lambda, Baptist Student Ministries and the Student Alumni Association. While at ASU, she served as a mentor for the Joint Admission Medical Program, tutored chemistry students, and participated in mission trips, Science Days programs, and fundraising efforts for various medical, environmental and international relief causes. She will enter the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine in Fort Worth this fall in preparation for a career as a practicing physician.

Zaveri is a computer science major with a minor in mathematics. He received the Carr Academic Scholarship and the Kailas and Becky Rao/Gary Pollard Computer Science Scholarship while compiling a perfect 4.0 GPA at ASU. He served as president of Alpha Lambda Delta, vice president of Alpha Chi National Honor Society, and secretary of Pi Mu Epsilon Mathematical Honor Society. He was active in the International Student Association and the Association for Computer Machinery. He provided tutoring for mathematics students and worked in the university's Information Technology Department. His academic and leadership performance earned inclusion in Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. Zaveri will pursue a graduate degree in computer science.

Roberts will graduate with a double major in English and communications. She maintained a 3.972 GPA during her undergraduate studies. She received numerous scholarships, including the Carr Academic Scholarship and the Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship. Roberts earned membership in Alpha Chi National Honor Society and Sigma Tau Delta. She served the university as a member of the University Center Program Council and the Student Alumni Association. She served as a peer tutor in the ASU Writing Center and worked as house manager for several ASU theater productions. Her short story entry won the 2001 University Symposium Contest. She hopes to pursue a career as an editor in the book-publishing industry.

San Angelo resident Dawkins is a mathematics major with minors in English and philosophy. He received the Carr Academic Scholarship and the Mathematics Department Special Academic Scholarship. His 3.92 GPA earned him induction into Alpha Chi National Honor Society, Pi Mu Epsilon National Mathematics Honor Society and Omicron Delta Kappa. He received a Carr Research Fellowship, which resulted in a presentation to the prestigious "Mathfest 2004" conference. He was an active member of the American Chemical Society, Baptist Student Fellowship, Mathematics Association of America and Resonance Society. Dawkins published in Oasis, ASU's literary magazine, and completed a nine-month internship with the Baptist Chaplaincy at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He plans to pursue a doctorate in math.

Lasly graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor of science in interdisciplinary child development and learning in December. Lasly returned to school after putting her husband through college and raising her children. She received the Carr Academic Scholarship and the Rao Scholarship. Her 3.895 GPA earned her induction into Alpha Chi National Honor Society and Kappa Delta Pi Educational Honor Society as well as selection to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. She mentored students through the Education Department's Helping One Student to Succeed program, volunteered at the Concho Valley Archeology Fair and worked with the ASU Student Reading Council. She plans to pursue a career in teaching at the elementary school level.