Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

December 2005

Release date: December 15, 2005

Professor from Russia to be AEP Distinguished Professor

Russian professor of English linguistics Igor Tolochin, who has lectured at the University of St. Petersburg for nearly 20 years, will serve as the AEP Distinguished Professor in Residence at Angelo State University this spring and will share his insights with ASU students and faculty.

Tolochin's research has focused on cognitive linguistics - the development of words and parts of words - as well as the evolution of metaphorical expression in 20th-century English-language poetry.

AEP established the Distinguished Professor in Residence Program in 1997 to bring to ASU outstanding individuals in a variety of fields for extended interaction with students, faculty, staff and the public. Since its inception, the AEP Distinguished Professors have included an Academy Award-winning actor, a renowned novelist, a world-class physicist and a syndicated newspaper columnist, among others.

While at ASU, Tolochin will teach the course Mayberry to Metropolis with ASU English professor Chris Ellery. The course will relate Tolochin's theories on the verbal expression of American values to texts and films that explore the transformation of the United States from a nation of farmers and townspeople to one of factory workers and city dwellers.

On Feb. 14, Tolochin will give a public lecture, and he will speak to other classes.

Tolochin has earned fellowships and grants to research and lecture at several of the world's top universities. In 1991, he received a Visiting Research Fellowship at England's Oxford University. He attended the Summer School of Criticism and Theory in 1993 at New Hampshire's Dartmouth college, and he received a fellowship at the Kennan Institute for Advanced Russian Studies in Washington, D.C., in 1996.

Previous AEP Distinguished Professors in Residence have been concert pianist Frederick Moyer; San Angelo novelist Elmer Kelton; Academy Award-winning actor Karl Malden; renowned physicist Jay Davis; former U.S. Ambassador Edward Rowell; E.R. "Dick" Brooks, former chairman and chief executive officer of Central and South West Corporation; William W. "Bill" Maxwell, syndicated columnist for the St. Petersburg Times; and sports sociologist Dr. Stan Eitzen.