Skip to Main content

News Stories

  • Honor Society Wins Grant for SAISD Literacy Program

    June 28, 2022 - Angelo State University’s chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi (PKP) national honor society has won a 2022 PKP Literacy Grant that will be used to support the San Angelo Independent School District’s “San Angelo READS!” community-wide literacy initiative.

  • $1.6 Million Upgrade for ASU Soccer Complex

    June 22, 2022 - The Angelo State University Soccer Complex is set to undergo a $1.6 million, two-year renovation project that will add additional covered fan seating, a press box and the soccer program’s first dedicated clubhouse.

  • $2.3 Million Gift for ASU Auditorium Renovations & Naming

    June 14, 2022 - Angelo State University has received a $2.3 million gift from prominent local philanthropist and arts enthusiast Elta Joyce McAfee to help fund the restoration and renovation of ASU’s University Auditorium, which will be re-named the Elta Joyce Murphey Auditorium in her honor.

  • ASU Co-Hosting State Beef Cattle Symposium

    June 10, 2022 - Angelo State University’s Department of Agriculture will co-host ranchers and cattle industry professionals from across the state for a Beef Cattle Symposium June 16-17 at the San Angelo Fairgrounds and ASU’s Management, Instruction and Research (MIR) Center.

  • Social Work Prof Elected to National Standards Board

    June 7, 2022 - Dr. Joel L. Carr, an associate professor of social work and sociology at Angelo State University, has been elected to the American Board of Clinical Social Work (ABCSW), which sets the national standards for education, advocacy and credentialing for the clinical social work profession.

  • Inaugural Cybersecurity Camp for Area Students

    June 2, 2022 - Angelo State University’s Department of Computer Science will host its inaugural CyberCamp@ASU, an Air Force Association (AFA) CyberCamp for local and area junior high and high school students, June 20-24 in the ASU Mathematics-Computer Science Building at 2200 Dena Drive.

  • Security Studies Prof Named Editor of New Book Series on Marine Corps

    June 1, 2022 - Dr. William A. Taylor, an award-winning professor of global security studies at Angelo State University, has been named the series editor for a new book series titled “Studies in Marine Corps History and Amphibious Warfare” through the Naval Institute Press.

  • Master of Athletic Training (M.A.T.) Degree Earns CAATE Accreditation

    May 26, 2022 - Angelo State University’s Master of Athletic Training (M.A.T.) graduate degree program has earned accreditation by the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE) with the initial accreditation in place through the 2026-27 academic year.

  • New Dinosaur Exhibits for ASU Mayer Museum

    May 24, 2022 - The Angelo State University Mayer Museum is adding seven new replica dinosaur skeletons to its collection, and they will be available for free public viewing starting Tuesday, June 7.

  • School Counseling Prof Wins State Distance Learning Award

    May 18, 2022 - Dr. Audrey Heron, an Angelo State University alumna and member of the graduate education faculty, has received a 2022 Outstanding Commitment to Excellence and Innovation in Distance Education by an Individual Award from the Texas Digital Learning Association (TxDLA).

  • 2022 Spring Commencement Ceremonies and Events

    May 11, 2022 - The members of Angelo State University’s largest-ever graduating class of over 1,140 students are scheduled to walk the stage during five spring commencement ceremonies on Friday and Saturday, May 13-14, in the Junell Center/Stephens Arena, 2235 S. Jackson St.

  • Dean Named for Norris-Vincent College of Business

    May 10, 2022 - Dr. Andrew Tiger, interim dean of Angelo State University’s Norris-Vincent College of Business, has had the “interim” tag removed from his title and been appointed the permanent dean of the college.

  • 2022 Faculty Excellence Awards Winners

    May 10, 2022 - Dr. Dionne T. Bailey of the Department of Mathematics, Dr. Bruce E. Bechtol Jr. of the Department of Security Studies and Criminal Justice, and Dr. D. Rozena McCabe of the Department of Kinesiology are the winners of Angelo State University’s 2022 President’s Awards for Faculty Excellence.

  • 2021-22 Order of the Sword & Shield Inductees

    May 9, 2022 - Angelo State University’s chapter of the Order of the Sword & Shield national honor society recently inducted 28 new student members for the 2021-22 academic year.

  • 2022 Faculty Excellence Awards Nominees

    May 5, 2022 - Outstanding Angelo State University faculty members will be honored during the 13th annual Faculty Recognition Ceremony on Monday, May 9, in the ASU Houston Harte University Center.

  • Class of 2022 Top Graduates

    May 3, 2022 - Morgan Preston of Vicksburg, Michigan, has been selected to receive Angelo State University’s 2022 Presidential Award as the top graduate in her class, while five other ASU graduating seniors have been selected for 2021-22 Distinguished Student Awards from their respective academic colleges.

  • 2022 Outstanding Graduate Students

    May 2, 2022 - Angelo State University honored its 2022 Outstanding Graduate Students, as well as the recipients of four superlative awards, during the annual Graduate Research Symposium and Awards Ceremony on April 29 in the Houston Harte University Center.

  • Longtime Physics Prof Appointed Dean of the College of Graduate Studies and Research

    April 29, 2022 - Dr. David Bixler, chair of the Angelo State University Department of Physics and Geosciences, has been appointed the new dean of ASU’s College of Graduate Studies and Research, effective June 1.

  • Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Spring 2022 Inductees

    April 26, 2022 - Angelo State University’s chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi (PKP) national honor society recently inducted its spring 2022 class of 57 new student members during a special virtual initiation ceremony on Facebook.

  • 2021-22 Staff Awards Winners

    April 25, 2022 - Four Angelo State University staff members – Zachary Deere, Christabel Romine, Candace Aguirre and Amanda Ritchie – have earned the 2021-22 President’s Awards for Staff Excellence, and another – Jayna Phinney – has received the annual Chancellor’s Colonel Rowan Award for Execution.