Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

Media Students Win Statewide Awards

April 11, 2017

Ten students in Angelo State University’s communication and mass media programs earned awards for their work on campus media during 2016 at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association’s 2017 TIPA Convention held March 30-April 1 in Dallas.

Six student staffers of the ASU Ram Page campus newspaper combined for awards in eight categories. Copy Editor Erika Walker won second place in the General Column category, while Marsalis Mahome won second place in News Photo, and photographers Kaitlin Trujillo and Josh Lopez won second place in Picture Story for their coverage of 2016 Homecoming activities. 

Trujillo, Ram Page photo editor, also earned honorable mention in the Sports Column category, and Lopez earned honorable mention in the Feature Photo category for his photo of the ASU Lake House. Music columnist Hanna Schindler won honorable mention in both the Critical Review and Feature Page Design categories, and Sam Fowler earned honorable mention in the Sports News Story category. 

Four student staffers of the Ram TV campus television station earned awards in two categories. Brooke Cowey, Russell Howard and Sarah Jenkins took second place in the Documentary category for their entry “Angelo State Veterans.” Steven Salas won third place in the Production category for his entry “Rape Crisis.” 

The ASU students competed against students from colleges and universities throughout Texas in the contests judged by out-of-state media professionals. 

Dr. Cathy Johnson, professor of mass media, is the faculty advisor for the Ram Page. Leah Mangrum, associate professor of communication, is the director of Ram TV.

ASU Logo