Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

Angelo State Prof Wins State Education Award

October 29, 2019

Dr. Tia Agan, an Angelo State University alumna and member of the curriculum and instruction faculty, received the 2019 Ted Booker Memorial Award for outstanding contributions in the field of teacher education at the Consortium of State Organizations for Texas Teacher Education (CSOTTE) annual conference on Oct. 27 in Frisco.

The Booker Award was presented to Agan by the Texas Association of Teacher Educators (TxATE), one of 10 organizations that make up the CSOTTE. The award is named for the late Ted Booker, former dean of the College of Education at Texas Woman’s University and former TxATE president. The guidelines for the award state, “Nominees should have made a significant contribution in the area of teacher education; specifically, contributions in scholarship and policy.”

According to her nomination letter, Agan was honored for transforming and improving the practicum and internship coursework for advanced certifications within the ASU Department of Curriculum and Instruction, including the certifications for school counselor, principal and superintendent. She updated the Practicum Handbook, embedded program standards, created new evaluation forms, and increased candidate support through the addition of clinical experts.

Dr. Tia Agan Dr. Tia AganAdditionally, Agan has worked with ASU’s Information Technology and E-Learning teams to integrate the TaskStream web-based portfolio program into ASU’s Blackboard online course management system. She also recently became certified by the Texas Education Agency as a field supervisor coaching trainer in order to train all field supervisors, and she developed a university-specific Field & Site Supervisor Training Guide.

Most recently, Agan was one of a four ASU curriculum and instruction faculty members to team with Texas Education Service Center Region 15 earlier this month for a $2.3 million grant-funded program to increase the number of public school counselors employed in rural school districts within Region 15, which includes 43 West Texas school districts.

At ASU since 2012, Agan began as a field experience advisor on the ASU College of Education staff. She then earned her doctorate from Texas Tech University and joined the ASU curriculum and instruction faculty in 2017. She has been nominated for an ASU President’s Award for Staff Excellence and President’s Award for Faculty Excellence, and she was named the ASU Alumni Association’s 2015 Distinguished Carr Scholar Alumna.

Also a board member of the Texas Directors of Field Experiences, Agan is an avid supporter of the Delta Kappa Gamma professional society for women educators and the president-elect of ASU’s chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi national honor society.

ASU Logo