Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Faculty, Staff Earn Awards for Decades of Service

April 18, 2011

Seventy Angelo State University faculty and staff, including nine with a quarter century or more employment with the university, were honored with Service Awards during ceremonies Thursday, April 14, in the Houston Harte University Center on the ASU campus.

ASU President Joseph C. Rallo thanked the honorees for their loyalty and dedication to ASU and presented all with awards representing their years of service to the university.

Receiving a 40-Year Service Award was Ross C. Dawkins, Chemistry and Biochemistry, while Kenneth L. Stewart, Psychology, Sociology and Social Work, received a 35-Year Service Award.

Awards for 30 years of service went to John J. Miazga, College of Education, and Dennis E. Pate, History.

Recipients of 25-Year Service Awards were Dennis W. Block, Agriculture; Janet E. Coleman, Controller’s Office; Judith A. Hakes, Teacher Education; Juan C. Montemayor, Mathematics; and Mark S. Sonntag, Physics.

The 20-Year Service Awards went to John N. Barbour, Political Science and Criminal Justice; J. Christopher Ellery, English; Frankie J. Fuson, Facilities Management; Michael T. Griffin, Biology; David G. Hegwood, Facilities Management; Laurence F. Jones, Political Science and Criminal Justice; Lorri E. Morris, Registrar’s Office; Mark B. Motl, Computer Science; Angela L. Skaggs, Library; and June H. Smith, Communication, Mass Media and Theatre.

Recipients of 15-Year Service Awards were Kevin A. Boudreaux, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Frances A. Buchanan, Accounts Payable; Tina C. Doyle, Communication, Mass Media and Theatre; Jay S. Halbert, Facilities Management; Stephen L. Hammer, Nursing; Jo Nell Harlow, Mathematics; E. James Hindman, History; Patricia L. Hutchinson, Nursing; Jose A. Pena, Facilities Management; Hal E. Peter, Facilities Management; Paul D. Pillsbury, Facilities Management; M. Todd Schafer, Agriculture; Cody B. Scott, Agriculture; Martha R. Sleutel, Nursing; Martha A. Tafoya, Nursing; and Betty A. Thorpe, Aerospace Studies.

The 10-Year Service Awards were presented to Kathy L. Berthold, Residential Programs; Aaron A. Carrillo, Print Shop; David A. Carter, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Kathe A. Connor, University Clinic; Bill G. Cullins, Special Projects; Mary M. Eades, Accounting, Economics and Finance; Marilyn J. Eisenwine, Teacher Education; Adra L. Enos, Career Development; Gary L. Fisher, Management and Marketing; Connie H. Frazier, Residential Programs; Karl J. Havlak, Mathematics; Keith L. Hoelscher, Financial Aid; and Sahit M. Kara, Accounting, Economics and Finance.

Also receiving 10-Year Service Awards were Nancy S. Kloboucnik, Mathematics; Sarah M. Logan, Institutional Research and Effectiveness; Carl T. Martin, Center for Security Studies; John C. Mathews, Information Technology; Janet L. Meyer, Information Technology; Barbara J. Montgomery, Extended Studies; Jan C. Nichols, Nursing; Meghan J. Pace, Center for International Studies; Bradley C. Petty, University Recreation; B. Cleave Pool, Counseling Services; Elicia K. Rankin, Purchasing Office; Hector G. Rios, Materials Management; Julie J. Ruthenbeck, Career Development; Eldra R. Sanford, Communication, Mass Media and Theatre; Toni D. Sauncy, Physics; Kraig L. Schell, Psychology, Sociology and Social Work; Tammy Speciale, University Clinic; Richard O. Stinnett, Facilities Planning and Construction; David J. Tarver, Curriculum and Instruction; Betty L. Taylor, Nursing; Sally A. Walling Brooks, Athletics; and Melissa E. Wisener-Farr, Small Business Development Center.