Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Employees Nominated for Rodgers Awards

September 05, 2012

Thirty Angelo State University employees have been nominated for the 2011-12 Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards honoring outstanding ASU administrators, faculty and staff.  

From that pool of 30 nominees, winners of the Distinguished Administrator Award, Distinguished Faculty Award and Distinguished Staff Award will be announced during ASU President Joseph C. Rallo’s annual state of the university address and program on Wednesday, Sept. 12, in the Houston Harte University Center.  Each winner will receive a $2,500 honorarium. 

Administrators nominated for the award are:  Michelle Bennett, director of financial aid; Dr. Corbett F. Gaulden Jr., dean of the College of Business; Jay Halbert, director of facilities management; Tara Hart, director of the Student Affairs and Enrollment Management (SAEM) Student Support Center; Joe Muñoz, senior executive assistant to the president/assistant to the president for multicultural initiatives; Maggie Pepper, assistant vice president for finance and administration; Bradley Petty, director of university recreation; John Russell, director of facilities, planning and construction; Dr. Paul Swets, interim dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; and Angie Wright, associate vice president for finance and administration. 

Faculty nominees are:  Christie Adkins, instructor of anatomy and physiology; Dr. Bonnie Amos, professor of biology; Dr. Erin Ashworth-King, assistant professor of English; Dr. David Carter, assistant professor of chemistry; Dr. Shirley Eoff, professor of history; Dr. Teresa Hack, assistant professor of psychology; Dr. Constance Kelley, assistant professor of music/assistant director of bands; Dr. John Klingemann, assistant professor of history; Dr. Rob LeGrand, assistant professor of computer science; Dr. Kimberly Livengood, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction; Dr. Jason Pierce, assistant professor of history; Dr. David Sanders, assistant professor of sociology; Dr. Sangeeta Singg, professor of psychology; Dr. Kenneth Stewart, professor of sociology and university studies; Ben Sum, associate professor of art; and Dr. James Ward, assistant professor of geology. 

Staff nominees are:  Jody Casares, office coordinator, Biology Department; Mary Escobar, financial aid counselor; E. Nathan Lopez, events manager for special events/services; and Michelle Steely, office coordinator, Center for Student Involvement. 

The Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards were created by San Angelo native and former Angelo State student Gary Rodgers and his wife, Pat.  Because of their association with many ASU employees over the years, the couple recognized the roles that faculty, staff and administrators perform to help ASU fulfill its mission to prepare students to be responsible and productive citizens.  The Rodgers established the awards and provide the $2,500 honorarium for each recipient. 

The winner of the Distinguished Administrator Award is chosen by an ad hoc committee of the ASU Faculty Senate and Staff Senate.  The faculty and staff award winners are chosen by the ASU Student Government Association.