Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Student Wins Statewide Education Scholarship

August 30, 2011

Benjamin Ellery, a senior mathematics major at Angelo State University, has been awarded a Texas Association of School Personnel Administrators (TASPA) Scholarship for the 2011-12 academic year.

The annual TASPA Scholarships are designated for students in their final year of college seeking initial teacher certification and/or endorsement. Ellery will receive $2,000, and is the fifth ASU student to receive a TASPA scholarship since 2003.

TASPA works in conjunction with the Texas Association for Employment in Education (TAEE) in administering the scholarship on TAEE-member campuses, including ASU. Only one application is permitted from each participating university each year. Typically, fewer than five scholarships are awarded annually.

Ellery was recommended by Dr. John Miazga, dean of the ASU College of Education, and Julie Ruthenback, director of ASU Career Development. Previous TASPA scholarship winners from ASU are Sarah Thomas (2009-10), Savanna Steele (2007-08), Tina Klepac (2006-07) and Blanca Garcia (2003-04).