Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Education Honor Society Inducts 50

November 12, 2012

Angelo State University’s Mu Gamma chapter of the Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) international honor society for education has inducted 50 new members for the fall 2012 semester.

San Angeloans inducted into KDP include Trevor Cole Brawley, Tessa Bump, Dannielle Goldman, Anne Marie Harris, Jessica Beth Hasty, Stacy Renee Head, Kristen Hensley, Jennifer Carol Johnson, Whitney Neumeyer Johnson, Jamie Leigh Jones, Leah Kuhlmann, Kourtney McAdams, Melissa Misenhimer, Bridget Mitchell, Tabitha Rivera, Hayley Nicole Roberts, Sherry Schmiedekamp, Sierra Jade Young and Aracely Zapata.

Also joining the group are Mary Anna Leamons of Ackerly, Tamara Franklin and Christina Simpson of Ballinger, Jessica Hicks of Boerne, Aaron Rode Perkins of Castell, Shelby Nicole Sanders of Christoval, Nicole McDonald of Cleburne, Lori Ann Garza of Colorado City, April Vasquez and Kelsey Curry of Converse, Amy Latane Alvizo of Del Rio, Destiny Evette Jackson and Ryan Pabor of Fort Worth, Kendra Stewart of Georgetown and Shelby Langford of Leander.

Other inductees include Garrett Ray Allen of Mason, Jessica McDonald of Mertzon, Kelley Harlow and Morgan Pelzel of Miles, Jordan Jernigan of Monahans, Tyler Robert Englert of Norton, Brandi Jo Brosh of Robert Lee, Leigh Ann Spradlin of Round Rock, Derrick Drury and Marisa Elise Mendoza of San Antonio, Melissa Garcia of San Elizario, Amy Hernandez of Sonora, Brandi Michelle Barber of Sterling City, Allyson Renee Ruddick of Sweetwater, Chelsie Bishop of Tuscola and Karina Onofre Cortez of Germany.

To qualify for Kappa Delta Pi, undergraduate students must be sophomores with a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher in 12 or more hours of education courses. Graduate students qualify with a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher after a minimum of 12 hours of professional education courses.

KDP was founded in 1911 at the University of Illinois to foster excellence in education and promote fellowship among those dedicated to teaching.  There are 582 chapters with a total international membership of more than 45,000.