Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Flag Football Teams Win Regionals

November 21, 2012

Three Angelo State University intramural flag football teams won their respective divisions at the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association’s (NIRSA) National Campus Championship Series (NCCS) Regional Flag Football Tournament Nov. 16-18 at Texas Tech University.

ASU’s Wolfpac won the Men’s Division by defeating a University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) team, 41-14, in the final.  Meanwhile, ASU’s IM Legends defeated a team from New Mexico State University, 53-9, in the championship game of the Co-Recreational Division, and ASU’s Vixen won the Women’s Division with a 14-7 overtime win in the final over a team from the Universidad Autonoma de Nuevo Leon.

The three division winners will now travel to the NIRSA-NCCS National Flag Football Tournament in Orlando, Fla., Jan. 4-6.

Also competing in the tournament from ASU were DTP and New Era in the Men’s Division.  DTP reached the semifinals before losing to UTSA, 18-13.  New Era also fell to UTSA, 37-34, in the quarterfinals.

Three ASU players were selected MVP of their respective divisions and six other ASU players were awarded all-tournament honors.  In the Men’s Division, Scott Fankhauser of Wolfpac was named MVP while teammate Lane Hutchins and DTP’s Justin Rainey were picked for the all-tournament team.  In the Co-Rec Division, Reid Jackson of IM Legends was named MVP and teammates Danielle Walts and Brianne Wilburn were named all-tournament.  In the Women’s Division, Walts was named MVP and teammates Noel Johnson and Kris Crockett were all-tournament selections.

For more information, call ASU University Recreation at 325-942-2034.

ASU Logo