Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Employees Win Inaugural Rodgers Awards

September 14, 2011

Cindy Weeaks, Dr. Crosby Jones Jr. and Heather Valle have been named the winners of the inaugural Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards honoring outstanding administrators, faculty and staff at Angelo State University.

Weeaks, director of registrar services, won the Distinguished Administrator Award; Jones, professor of biology, won the Distinguished Faculty Award; and Valle, coordinator for student organizations, won the Distinguished Staff Award. Each received a $2,500 honorarium.

They, along with 20 other nominees, were honored during ASU President Joseph C. Rallo’s annual state of the university address and program on Wednesday, Sept. 14.

An ASU graduate and employee of ASU since 1996, Weeaks directs the Registrar’s Office, which assists students, faculty and staff with all aspects of student records, including registering for classes, dropping classes, verifying enrollment, receiving credit for examination, checking grades and requesting transcript copies. She was honored for her dedication to the university and her office, being an active student recruiter and her continued work to improve the processes of her office and the Banner computer system used to contain and coordinate all student records.

An ASU faculty member for more than 30 years, Jones is a professor in the Biology Department, a member of numerous campus committees and faculty advisor for ASU’s award-winning chapter of the Beta Beta Beta (Tri-Beta) biology national honor society. He was honored for his teaching abilities, campus and community involvement, mentorship of student research and promotion of school spirit. He has been honored previously by the ASU Alumni Association and Student Government Association, as well as the Tri-Beta national organization.

An ASU staff member since 2008, Valle coordinates and advises the more than 100 ASU student organizations. She was honored for her commitment to the ASU student body and her work on numerous campus committees dedicated to student involvement. She also sponsors the Student Government Association, African Student Association and Sisters Who Achieve Goals (SWAG) student group. She has been honored previously by the Student Government Association, and was named a 2009-10 Wonderful Woman at ASU.

The Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards were created by San Angelo native and former Angelo State student Gary Rodgers and his wife, Pat. Because of their association with many ASU employees over the years, the couple recognized the roles that faculty, staff and administrators perform to help ASU fulfill its mission to prepare students to be responsible and productive citizens. The Rodgers established the awards and provided the $2,500 honorarium for each recipient.

Dr. Jason Penry, ASU’s vice president for development, said, “All of us at Angelo State University are grateful for the Rodgers and the opportunity they have provided to recognize our outstanding employees. The Rodgers have made plans to permanently endow the awards. As a result, Gary’s and Pat’s legacy will be forever felt by future generations of faculty, staff and administrators at Angelo State.”

Other nominees for the Rodgers Distinguished Administrator Award were: Dr. Corbett F. Gaulden Jr., Dr. Scott Hasson, Preston Lewis, Dr. James Limbaugh, Dr. Linda Lucksinger, Dr. Leslie M. Mayrand, Greg Pecina, Paul Pillsbury, Katie M. Plum, John Russell, Dr. Steve Snowden, Dr. Jim Summerlin, Dr. Paul K. Swets and Dr. Sharynn M. Tomlin.

Other nominees for the Rodgers Distinguished Faculty Award were: Dr. Susana Badiola, Dr. William Doll, Dr. Cathy Johnson, Dr. Kimberly Livengood, Dr. Carolyn R. Mason and Dr. John C. “Trey” Smith.