Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Holiday Dinner Theatre Presents ‘Harvey’

November 26, 2012

Angelo State University’s theatre program will present the classic comedy “Harvey” for its 2012 Holiday Dinner Theatre Nov. 29-Dec. 2, and Dec. 6-8, in the ASU Modular Theatre.

Performances will be at 8 p.m. Nov. 29-Dec. 1 and Dec. 6-8, with doors opening for dinner at 6:45 p.m.  A matinee performance is scheduled for 2 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 2, with doors opening for dinner at 12:45 p.m.  The Modular Theatre is located in the Carr Education-Fine Arts (EFA) Building, 2602 Dena Drive.

Written by Mary Chase in 1944, “Harvey” won a Pulitzer Prize for Drama for American playwrights the next year, and was made into a critically acclaimed film in 1950 starring Jimmy Stewart.

The story revolves around Elwood P. Dowd, who talks to his unseen friend, Harvey, a 6-foot, 3½-inch-tall rabbit.  Elwood’s social-climbing sister, Veta, decides his eccentric behavior is hurting her quest for acceptance into high society, and has him committed to a sanitarium to spare her daughter and their family from future embarrassment.  When they arrive at the sanitarium, the fun begins.

Dr. Bill Doll, professor of theatre and director of University Theatre, is directing “Harvey,” which he calls a “hoot” and a nice change of pace for theatergoers during the holiday season.  He said the production also offers an object lesson for everyone.

“I’ve always believed that the best works delight and instruct,” Doll said, “and what we can learn from this is that we ought not to give up those we love for social status.”

The play features ASU students Magdalena Hogan as Myrtle Mae Simmons, Amber Horton as Veta Louise Simmons, Joey Hancock as Elwood P. Dowd, Leigha Murray as Miss Johnson, Katie Hejl as Ethel Chauvenet, Chloé Casey as Nurse Ruth Kelley, Tyler Hastings as Duane Wilson, Trey Smith as Dr. Lyman Sanderson, Lance Turner as Dr. William Chumley, Heather Walker as Betty Chumley, Sterling Townsend as Judge Owen Gaffney and Bernardino “Chito” Hernandez as E.J. Lofgren.

Crew members for the production are Janna Pinson, stage manager; Caden Glass, assistant stage manager; Ty Matlock, light board operator; Cassandra Trautman, wardrobe manager; Anthony Lewis, wardrobe assistant; Matthew Pose, master sound technician; Elizabeth Holland, properties manager; Elizabeth Flores and Rebecca Sussdorf, properties assistants; Leigha Murray, Deborah Valcin and Amanda Mitchell, box office staff; Larry Hettick, maitre ?; and Jose Villedas, house manager.

Tickets are $12.50 for ASU students and activity card holders, $15 for non-ASU students and Arts at ASU subscribers, and $20 general admission.  Reservations should be made at least three days before the desired performance by calling 942-2000 weekdays between 2-6 p.m.  Tickets can also be purchased in the Modular Theatre Box Office in the Carr EFA Building from 2-6 p.m. weekdays.

For more information, call the ASU drama program at 325-942-2146.


Drama Program
ASU Logo