Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Alpha Chi Inducts 46

April 15, 2013

Angelo State University’s chapter of the Alpha Chi national honor society inducted 46 new members during a special ceremony on April 11.

Alpha Chi is open to students majoring in any academic discipline.  It has over 300 chapters nationwide and more than 400,000 members.  To be eligible, students must rank in the top 10 percent of seniors at their college or university, or in the top five percent of juniors.

Spring 2013 ASU inductees to Alpha Chi were Katriona Baker, Jordan Benfield, Cheyenne Benson, Lindsey Blair, John Blake, Abby Bobo, Leigh Ann Bodenchuk, James Bufkin, Jeffrey Camron, Harrison Chevalier, Leonor Constancio, Jacqueline Coty, Jacob Crawshaw, Kelsey Curry, Sandra Davis, Aimee Denham, Hannah Dodds, Sarah Elliott, Brett Estes, Beth Forehand, Codi Foster, Danielle Freeman, Marcus Garcia and Meghan Harp.

Also, Cody Harrelson, Kimberly Hiseley, Connor Hoelscher, Sierra Honea, Trisha Killen, Dylan Littlejohn, Matthew Lombardo, Arlis McMullan, Melissa McNaley, Sarah Meyer, Donald Moore, Steeli Morgan, Sean Motl, Logan Niehues, Leisa Prettie, Caradee Pyott, Corey Schwartz, Evelyn Sullivan, Ethan Swatzell, Tara Warren, Brittney Welchon and Steven Wusterbarth.

Additionally, three ASU members won research presentation awards at the annual Alpha Chi National Convention held April 4-6 in Nashville, Tenn.

Senior physics/mathematics major David To won a $100 award for Best Presentation in Physics/Geology/Astronomy.  Senior animal science major Mary Jones won a $100 award for Best Presentation in Ecological and Organismal Biology.  Junior chemistry major Binhong Lin won a $200 scholarship from the ASU sponsors for best presentation by an ASU student.

ASU is located in Alpha Chi Region I, and Dr. Karl Havlak, professor of mathematics, is the head faculty advisor for the ASU chapter.  Additional faculty advisors are Dr. June Smith for the College of Arts and Sciences, Dr. Biqing Huang for the College of Business, Dr. Ann Bullion-Mears for the College of Education, and Paul Osmanski for the College of Health and Human Services.  Havlak is also secretary-treasurer for Region I and a member of the Alpha Chi National Council.

For more information, call Havlak at 325-486-5432.  More details on Alpha Chi are available online at