Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

Phi Kappa Phi Installation April 25

April 18, 2013

The installation of Angelo State University’s new chapter of Phi Kappa Phi (PKP), the nation’s most selective collegiate honor society encompassing all academic disciplines, will occur during formal ceremonies Thursday, April 25, on the ASU campus.

Dr. Missy Hopper, vice president of the South Central Region of Phi Kappa Phi and president of the PKP chapter at Mississippi State University, will conduct the installation ceremony at 4 p.m. Thursday in Room 100 of the Mathematics-Computer Science Building.  The ceremony is open to all ASU faculty and staff, as well as the public.  The ASU chapter of PKP will induct its first class of students during the fall semester.

During Thursday’s installation ceremony, ASU’s 18 faculty and staff who were inducted into PKP chapters at other institutions and petitioned the national PKP for a chapter, will sign the charter.  They are:  Dr. Adria Battaglia, Dr. Anthony P. Blose, Dr. Ann T. Bullion-Mears, Dr. Michael T. Dixon, Dr. Jon Chris Ellery, Dr. Beverly Jeanne Greenwald, Dr. Bynum Blake Hightower, Dr. Kevin J. Lambert, J. Preston Lewis, Dr. Kimberly Kay Livengood, Dr. Linda N. Lucksinger; Dr. Bradley Clyde Petty, Dr. James Robert Phelps, Dr. Joseph C. Rallo, George Kevin Wade, Dr. Andrew B. Wallace, Deanna Joy Watts and Dr. Susan S. Wilkinson.

Petitioners also include ASU members of Phi Beta Kappa, which recognizes majors in the arts and sciences, and Sigma Xi, which honors majors in the sciences.  Dr. Susana Badiola and Dr. Dinah J. Harriger, both of Phi Beta Kappa, and Dr. Charles Diminnie and Dr. Karl Havlak, both of Sigma Xi, will be inducted into Phi Kappa Phi at the ceremony and sign the charter.

Additionally, eight ASU administrators will be inducted into Phi Kappa Phi and sign the ASU chapter charter.  They are President Dr. Brian J. May; Dr. Nancy Allen, interim provost and vice president for academic affairs; Dr. Javier Flores, vice president for student affairs and enrollment management; Dr. Paul Swets, dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Corbett Gaulden, dean, College of Business; Dr. John Miazga, dean, College of Education; Dr. June Smith, interim dean, College of Graduate Studies; and Dr. Leslie Mayrand, dean, College of Health and Human Services.

Officers for ASU’s new PKP chapter will be Dr. Karl Havlak, professor of mathematics, president; Dr. Blake Hightower, associate professor of curriculum and instruction, president-elect; Dr. Kim Livengood, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction, secretary; Dr. Bradley Petty, executive director of student affairs, treasurer; and Dr. Adria Battaglia, assistant professor of communication, public relations officer.