Skip Navigation
Angelo State University
Department of English and Modern Languages

Search Site

Information for:

21 EML Majors Recognized in Who’s Who

May 09, 2013

The following 21 English and Modern Languages majors have been honored during a ceremony and reception on Thursday, May 9, at 2 p.m. in the C.J. Davidson Conference Center inside the Houston Harte University Center (UC), 

The English and Spanish major honorees, listed with their major by hometown, are: 

San Angelo: Daniel Calhoun, English; Amanda Fowler, English; Justin Hall, English;  Amanda Hill, English; Erica Landers, English; Stephen Swaringin, English/art

Ballinger: Whitney Worthington, English.

Big Lake: David Reyes, Spanish.

Del Rio: Alejandra Jimenez, French

Grand Prairie: Courtney Eastep, English

Iraan: Erin Riley, English.

Kerrville: Victoria Lacy, mass media/English.

Midland:  Kiah Rhea, English.

Redwater: Jennifer De Bie; English

Rochelle: Kayla Butler, English

Wall: Shelby Hirt, English

DeKalb, Ill.: Alyssa Hittle, Spanish.

Hue, Vietnam: Quynh Nguyen, English.

Las Vegas, Nev.: Nicole Stevens, English.

Ulsan, South Korea: Yun Jin Hwang, English.


Pictured here are 11 English and Modern Languages majors honored at the Who’s Who Ceremony: Left to right: Nguyen, Calhoun, Lacy, Swaringin, Hirt, Stevens, Hill, Jimenez, Fowler, De Bie, and Landers


ASU faculty and staff members and student organizations can nominate students for Who’s Who, and a university committee makes the final selections.  Students are chosen for their excellence in the classroom, campus and community service, and leadership in extracurricular activities.  Honorees for the 79-year-old annual list come from 2,842 institutions of higher education in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.  ASU has participated in the Who’s Who program since the early 1970s.

EML News