Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Math Prof Wins Regional Teaching Award

February 24, 2011

Dr. Roger Zarnowski, a professor of mathematics at Angelo State University, has been named the recipient of the Mathematical Association of America’s (MAA) 2011 Texas Section Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics.

The Texas Section is one of 29 MAA sections in the U.S. Zarnowski will receive his award at the MAA Texas Section Spring Meeting April 14-16 at the University of Texas at Tyler.

Criteria for the section awards state that nominees should be widely recognized as extraordinarily successful in their teaching; have teaching effectiveness that can be documented; have had influence in their teaching beyond their own institutions; and foster curiosity and generate excitement about mathematics in their students.

Zarnowski is the first ASU faculty member to win the Texas Section award. He will now compete against the other 28 section winners for the national Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics, which will be announced in the fall.

Founded in 1915, The Mathematical Association of America is the largest professional society that focuses on mathematics accessible at the undergraduate level. Its more than 20,000 members include university, college and high school teachers; graduate and undergraduate students; pure and applied mathematicians; computer scientists; statisticians; and many others in academia, government, business and industry.