Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

Students Awarded Scholarships

March 19, 2015

Twenty-four Angelo State University students have been awarded $500 ASU Student Endowment Scholarships for the spring 2015 semester.

The scholarships are based on scholastic achievement, campus and community involvement and leadership, and financial need. The Student Endowment Committee reviews student applications and awards the scholarships.

Students receiving the scholarships, listed with their hometowns, classifications and academic majors, are James Bufkin, Seabrook, senior, mathematics; Caitlin Burton, New Braunfels, senior, chemistry; Linette Castaneda, San Juan, graduate/master’s, student development and leadership; Andrea Chavarria, Eagle Pass, senior, psychology; Casey Cornwell, San Angelo, senior, education; Brittany Dowd, San Angelo, senior, nursing; Kara Edwards, San Angelo, graduate/master’s, coaching, sport, recreation and fitness administration.

Also, Brooke Estes, Sylvester, senior, biology; Kehila Gamez, Eagle Pass, senior, nursing; Jordan Gartman, Robert Lee, junior, education; Morgan Griffith, Idalou, senior, education; Gabrielle Haynes, San Angelo, senior, interdisciplinary studies; Kierstin Hernandez, Sweetwater, senior, criminal justice; Katy Johnson, Sherman, graduate/doctorate, physical therapy; Kelly Johnson, Double Oak, sophomore, exercise science; Tyler Reasor, Seguin, senior, agribusiness.

Others are Alisha Robledo, Midland, junior, interdisciplinary studies; Tony Roy Jr., San Antonio, junior, mathematics; Nolan Sosa, San Angelo, junior, management; Summer Steelman, San Angelo, graduate/master’s, student development and leadership; Kati Stewart, Ranger, senior, marketing; Alexa Strebeck-Sicina, San Angelo, junior, psychology; Tara Warren, Abilene, senior, education; and Nicolette Winn, Carbondale, Ill., graduate/master’s, industrial-organizational psychology.

The scholarships are open to full-time returning ASU students enrolled in regular academic classes or internships. The overall grade point average (GPA) for this year’s 24 recipients is 3.73 on a 4.0 scale, with five having a 4.0 cumulative GPA.

The Student Endowment Committee is chaired by Dr. Bradley Petty, executive director of student affairs, and includes Dr. Alaric Williams, faculty representative; Crystal Braden, staff representative; and Preston Wimberly, student representative. The scholarship fund was set up in 2000 after an ASU Student Senate referendum passed to fund the scholarship with now-discontinued student fees until it reached a target balance of $500,000, which the committee strives to maintain. Scholarships have been awarded since the spring 2004 semester.

For more information, call Petty at 325-942-2034.