Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

Nursing Honor Society Inducts 43 New Members

April 10, 2015

Angelo State University’s Nursing Honor Society added 43 new members during its annual induction ceremony on Thursday, April 9, in the LeGrand Alumni and Visitors Center on the ASU campus.

Inductees included students from all three of ASU’s nursing degree programs, as well as several local community nursing leaders. 

ASU student inductees from the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.) program are Estella Alba, Lenarda Andrado, Jennifer Atchison, Alfredo Becerra, III, Gary Eaton, Melissa Garza, Antoinette Guajardo, Jesseca Heinatz, Lauren Henrikson, Janice Hooper, Chelsea Howard, Brandalynn Jordan, Kelly Matthews, Erin Newman, Tara Nowlin and Kasey Vacek, all of San Angelo. Also, Abby Bobo of Wichita Falls, Katherine Camlin of Carrollton, Dylan Littlejohn of Godley, Rina Pino of Pecos, Paige Smith of Kerrville and Mikaela Stroud of Throckmorton.  

Student inductees from the RN-to-B.S.N. program are Lisa Hadorn of San Angelo, Katelin Manley of Midland and Kristi Phillips of Abilene.  

Inductees from the nursing graduate program are Laura Allen of San Angelo, Robin Byrne of Andrews, Stacy Cooper of Temple, Michelle Flores of New Braunfels, Alicia Frith of Midland, B.J. Garrett and Katherine Lindley of Austin, Hayleyesus Gulilat of Pflugerville, Heather Hall of Ennis, Debbie King of Conroe, Lauren King of Angleton, Lynne Mittelstadt of Seguin and Adrienne Wells of San Antonio.

Community nursing leaders inducted this year are Bobby Bluford and Gerald Creel from Shannon Medical Center and Dr. Andrea Posey from San Angelo Community Medical Center. 

To be eligible for membership, undergraduate students must have completed at least half of the nursing curriculum in the B.S.N. or RN-to-B.S.N. program, hold at least a 3.0 grade point average, rank in the top 35 percent of their class and meet the expectation of academic integrity. Graduate students must have completed at least one-fourth of the curriculum, hold a minimum GPA of 3.5 and meet the expectation of academic integrity. Community nursing leaders must hold at least a bachelor’s degree and a valid Texas registered nursing license, and have demonstrated achievement in professional nursing. 

Additionally, the ASU Nursing Honor Society is applying for chapter charter status with the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) honor society for nursing. The only international nursing honor society, STTI includes 486 chapters in 90 countries. 

For more information, contact Dr. Kathryn Artnak, president of the ASU Nursing Honor Society, at 325-942-2224.