Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

Spring Alpha Chi Honor Society Inductees

April 14, 2015

Angelo State University’s chapter of the Alpha Chi national honor society inducted 44 new members during a special initiation ceremony on Monday, April 13, in the Houston Harte University Center, 1910 Rosemont Drive.

Alpha Chi is open to students majoring in any academic discipline and has over 300 chapters nationwide with more than 400,000 members. To be eligible, students must rank in the top 10 percent of seniors at their college or university, or in the top 7.5 percent of juniors. 

ASU’s spring 2015 inductees by hometown and major are: 

San Angelo: Robert Alexander, biology; Brianna Arranaga, nursing; Loran Bird, English; Christian Garcia, finance; Kimberly Hanusch, social work; Marcus Havlak, physics; Hannah Jones, biology; Kristopher Martin, nursing; Michael McEnrue, nursing; Reagan McGee, psychology; Joshua Meyers, political science; Alejandra Perales, social work; Shelby Robertson, mathematics; Kristi Tu, biology; Aaron Villescas, criminal justice; Danielle Walston, English; Kelcee Widdess, chemistry; and Zachary Wimpee, physics/mathematics 

Abilene: Elizabeth Rapstine, interdisciplinary studies 

Angleton: Deanna Wauer, accounting 

Aspermont: Ryan Reid, psychology 

Billings, Mont.: Phillip Nichelson, accounting 

Blanco: Jacob Hallenberger, computer science 

Carlsbad: Briana Glass, interdisciplinary studies 

Fort Worth: Kathleen Keoughan, kinesiology 

Haskell: Maci Colley, biology 

Idalou: Morgan Griffith, interdisciplinary studies 

Junction: Mykel Martin, music 

Keller: Trevor Stafford, communication 

McCamey: Linda Zarate, criminal justice

Midland: Haley Rhodes, intelligence, security studies and analysis 

Mineral Wells: Trella Waight, nursing 

Ozona: Kelsie Ramirez, psychology 

Robert Lee: Ashlie Wheat, kinesiology 

Roscoe: Jose Rangel, kinesiology 

Rotan: Kristian Neves, nursing 

Rowena: Kirsten McCoy, nursing 

Springtown: Zane Maddux, animal science 

Topeka, Kan.: Hope Long, English 

Wall: Allison Gerngross, nursing; Regan Hoelscher, kinesiology; and Trent Schwartz, food animal science and marketing 

Weatherford: Jordan Walker, psychology 

South Korea: Rira Lee, accounting 

Additionally, ASU Alpha Chi members Caitlin Bruns of Yorktown, Katlynn Cox of Springtown, Jared Goecker of San Angelo, Rachel Riggs of De Leon, Daniel Thompson of San Angelo and Brittany Trubenstein of Christoval attended the Alpha Chi National Convention March 19-22 in Chicago. Bruns and Trubenstein were awarded scholarships at the convention and Cox was elected as a student representative on the Alpha Chi National Council. 

ASU is located in Alpha Chi Region I, and Dr. Karl Havlak, professor of mathematics, is the head faculty advisor for the ASU chapter. Additional faculty advisors are Dr. June Smith for the College of Arts and Sciences, Dr. Biqing Huang for the College of Business, Dr. Charlene Bustos for the College of Education, and Paul Osmanski for the College of Health and Human Services. Havlak is also secretary-treasurer for Region I and a member of the Alpha Chi National Council. 

For more information, call Havlak at 325-486-5432. More details on Alpha Chi are available online at

ASU Logo