Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

2015 ASU Rodgers Awards Nominees

August 14, 2015

Thirty-five Angelo State University employees have been nominated for the 2014-15 Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards honoring outstanding ASU faculty, staff and administrators.

Recipients of the Rodgers Distinguished Faculty, Distinguished Staff and Distinguished Administrator Awards will be announced by ASU President Brian J. May during an assembly at 8:30 a.m. Thursday, Aug. 20, in the C.J. Davidson Conference Center.

Faculty nominees are Dr. Erin Ashworth-King, assistant professor of English; Dr. Jacqueline Brown, assistant professor of nursing; Katherine Bunker, art adjunct; Dr. Kristi Cordell-McNulty, assistant professor of psychology; Dr. Drew Curtis, assistant professor of psychology; Dr. Kenneth Heineman, professor of history; Dr. Blake Hightower, former assistant professor of curriculum and instruction; Dr. Crosby Jones, professor of biology; Dr. John Klingemann, assistant professor of history; Dr. Crystal Kreitler, assistant professor of psychology; Dr. Pamela Lee, professor of music; Dr. Robert LeGrand, assistant professor of computer science; Dr. Janet Maxwell, associate professor of chemistry; Melissa McDowell, assistant clinical professor of nursing; Ellen Moreland, senior instructor of mathematics; Dr. Charles Pier, associate professor of accounting; MSgt. Tracy Scott, formerly of the Department of Aerospace Studies/ROTC; and Dr. Trey Smith, professor of mathematics. 

Staff nominees are Ian Brown, manager of university recreation outdoor adventures; Eldra Sanford, university theatre costumer; Travis Scott, head women’s softball coach; Kristin Stanley, instructional designer, health and human services; and Michelle Vanderzant, academic advisor, arts and sciences.

Administrator nominees are Sharla Adam, director of admissions; Kim Adams, director of development and alumni services; Becky Brackin, director of communications and marketing; Brian Braden, executive director of information technology; Crystal Braden, director, Office of Accountability; Dr. Doyle Carter, director, Center for Community Engagement; Suzie Dusek, director of enrollment management operations; Brandy Hawkins, director of grants and operations and project director, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management; Joe Muñoz, senior executive assistant to the president/assistant to the president for multicultural initiatives; Cleave Pool, director of counseling services, health clinic; Dan Robertson, director of university recreation; and Jeff Sefcik, executive director of enrollment management.

The Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards were created by San Angelo native and former Angelo State student Gary Rodgers and his wife, Pat. Thanks to their association with many ASU employees over the years, the couple recognized the roles that faculty, staff and administrators perform to help ASU fulfill its mission to prepare students to be responsible and productive citizens. The couple established the awards and provided the $2,500 honorarium for each recipient.

“The Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards provide ASU with an opportunity to identify our exceptional employees,” said Jamie Akin, executive director of development and alumni relations. “As a result of their generosity, a legacy of acknowledging our outstanding faculty, staff and administrators has been established.”

The winner of the Distinguished Administrator Award is chosen by an ad hoc committee of the ASU Faculty Senate and Staff Senate. The faculty and staff award winners are chosen by the ASU Student Government Association.