What is Course Merging?
Multiple sections can be merged to create a single course in Blackboard. After the request is completed a new Blackboard course is created which contains the enrollments from the separate sections.
The combined sections create a new course referred to as the “parent course” and the sections that were merged are called the “child” courses. The child courses are made unavailable to students. Students will only see the section they are enrolled in.
If you would like to request courses to be merged in Blackboard, please fill out the form below to begin the process.
Tools that must be turned off to follow FERPA Guidelines:
- Discussion Board
- Course Roster
Please note: Requests to merge courses should be made before creating any course materials and will not be approved if students have submitted coursework or course grades have been posted.