Skip to Main content

Texas Bluebonnet Award

The Texas Bluebonnet Award (TBA) reading program was established in 1979 to encourage Texas children to read more books, explore a variety of current books, develop powers of discrimination, and identify their favorite books. The award process provides librarians, teachers, parents, and writers with insight into young students’ reading preferences. It further affords an opportunity to honor and encourage imaginative authors who create books with high appeal to children.

Search for a specific title in RamCat to verify if the Library owns a copy of the book
Year Author Title
2021 Chris Van Dusen If I Built a School
2020 Adam Rubin El Chupacabra
2019 Patricia McCormick Sergeant Reckless: The True Story of the Little Horse That Became a Hero
2018 Max Brallier The Last Kids on Earth
2017 Victoria Jamieson Roller Girl
2016 Laban Carrick Hill When the Beat was Born: KJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip Hop
2015 Drew Daywalt The Day the Crayons Quit
2014 John Grandits Ten Rules You Absolutely Must Not Break if You Want to Survive the School Bus
2013 Simms Taback Postcards From Camp
2012 Tom Angleberger The Strange Case of Origami Yoda
2011 Willy Claflin The Uglified Ducky
2010 Janet Stevens and Susan S. Crummel Help Me, Mr. Mutt : Expert Answers for Dogs with People Problems
2009 DeFelice, Cynthia C. One Potato, Two Potato
2008 Lucy A. Nolan On the Road (Down Girl and Sit series)
2007 Joe Hayes Ghost fever = Mal de Fantasma
2006 Lisa Wheeler and Marc Siegel Seadogs: An Epic Ocean Operetta
2005 Robert Blake Togo
2004 Phil Bildner Shoeless Joe & Black Betsy
2003 Ruth Sanderson The Golden Mare, the Firebird, and the Magic Ring
2002 Kate DiCamillo Because of Winn-Dixie
2001 Janet Stevens and Susan S. Crummel Cook-A-Doodle-Doo!
2000 Cynthia DeFelice Ghost of Fossil Glen
1999 Janelle Cannon Verdi
1998 Betsy Byars Tornado
1997 Jon Scieszka Math Curse
1996 Mary Downing Hahn Time for Andrew: A Ghost Story
1995 Jon Scieszka The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales
1994 Phyllis Reynolds Naylor Shiloh
1993 Brian Selznick The Houdini Box
1992 Bill Wallace Snot Stew
1991 Jonathan Etra & Stephanie Spinner Aliens for Breakfast
1990 Louis Sachar There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom
1989 Mary Downing Hahn Wait ‘Till Helen Comes: A Ghost Story
1988 Betty Ren Wright Christina’s Ghost
1987 Johanna Hurwitz The Hot and Cold Summer
1986 Betty Ren Wright The Dollhouse Murders
1985 Barbara Park Skinnybones
1984 Barthe DeClements Nothing’s Fair in Fifth Grade
1983 Bill Wallace A Dog Called Kitty
1982 Judy Blume Superfudge
1981 Beverly Cleary Ramona and Her Father