Skip to Main content

Intramural Flag Football National Champs

January 05, 2016

Angelo State University intramural flag football team IM Legends claimed the 2015 Co-Rec Division National Championship at the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association (NIRSA) National Campus Championship Series on Jan. 4 at the University of West Florida in Pensacola.

IM Legends defeated the defending national champion P-Rex team from Valdosta State University, 23-9, in the championship game to win the title. It is the third NIRSA national championship for IM Legends, who also won in 2012 and 2013 and were runners-up in 2011 and 2014. 

IM Legends, 2015 NIRSA Co-Rec National Champions IM Legends, 2015 NIRSA Co-Rec National Champions Individually for IM Legends, team captain Devon Wilde was named Female MVP and Chase Churchwell won Male MVP. They were joined on the All-American Team by teammate Lorrie Potts. The IM Legends roster also included Derek Drost, Sarah Herrod, Cooper Jackson, Jacob Newsome, Andre Sanders, Chance Stockbridge, Valerie Villalva, Rachel Washington and Jake Younts. 

Additionally for ASU, student officials Josh Hale and Matthew Kirkham officiated at the national tournament and Kirkham was named an All-American Official. Dr. Bradley Petty, ASU executive director of student affairs, was director of officials at the national tournament. 

In addition to their three NIRSA national titles, IM Legends also won American Collegiate Intramural Sports (ACIS) national championships in 2010 and 2012. 

For more information, contact Reid Jackson, ASU manager of intramural sports and camps, at 325-486-6905.