Skip Navigation

For a record ninth time, Angelo State University’s Epsilon Sigma chapter of the Beta Beta Beta (Tri-Beta) national biological honor society has been named the recipient of the Lloyd M. Bertholf Award as the top chapter in the nation for the 2017-18 academic year.

The ASU chapter is the first nine-time winner of the award out of the more than 600 Tri-Beta chapters in the U.S. and Puerto Rico. No other chapter has won the award more than six times. The ASU group was also named the top Tri-Beta chapter in the South Central Region for 2017-18 and won the 2018 E. James Hindman Award from the ASU Student Government Association as the top student organization on campus. Since 1986-87, ASU’s Tri-Beta chapter has won the Bertholf Award nine times, has been a top-three finalist three times, and has been named an Outstanding Chapter five times by the national Tri-Beta organization.