Skip to Main content

2019-20 Rodgers Distinguished Faculty, Staff and Administrator Awards

July 16, 2020

Don Cheek, Dr. Drew Curtis and Dr. Clifton Jones have been selected to receive the 2019-20 Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards honoring outstanding staff, faculty and administrators at Angelo State University.

Cheek, events manager for the Office of Special Events Facilities/Services, received the Distinguished Staff Award. Curtis, an assistant professor of psychology, received the Distinguished Faculty Award. Jones, dean of the Norris-Vincent College of Business, received the Distinguished Administrator Award. Each also received a $2,500 honorarium.

They, along with 48 other nominees, were honored during a special virtual ceremony on July 15.

Don Cheek Don Cheek

As events manager, Cheek is involved with and supports practically all community involvement activities that take place on the ASU campus, and he is also a member of numerous campus committees. He is known for his upbeat attitude, work ethic and willingness to do whatever is needed, whether on the clock or after hours. He was also honored for his treatment of the many students who work on his staff – always putting their schoolwork and mental and physical health as his top priorities. He is also a strong supporter of the many international students on his staff. From his nomination letter, “He serves on so many committees, I would literally have to go through his schedule to name them all. The university would not have survived without him this decade, if not the past two.”

Dr. Drew Curtis Dr. Drew Curtis

Curtis was honored for his comprehensive efforts on behalf of his students’ learning and research, as well as his own impressive list of published research articles and books. Outside the classroom and lab, he is also the faculty sponsor for two student organizations, Psi Chi and Active Minds, and serves on numerous campus committees. Off campus, he serves his profession as associate editor of the Journal of Psychological Inquiry and president-elect of the Southwestern Psychological Association. He is also active in the community, having established a stillbirth and miscarriage support group, In His Arms, and as committee chair of a local Boy Scouts troupe, Trail Life. From his nomination letter, “Dr. Curtis is a fantastic professor. He is extremely knowledgeable and has the ability to teach the subjects well, but he also brings an energy to the classroom that encourages students to be just as excited as he is about learning.”

Dr. Clifton Jones Dr. Clifton Jones

Jones was honored for his leadership of the Norris-Vincent College of Business and the tremendous impact he has had in the San Angelo community. He has secured $7 million in private funding for the college, has spearheaded the efforts for upper-level accreditation of ASU’s business degree programs, and has directed upgrades in the ASU Rassman Building to promote more engagement within the learning community. He also serves on numerous campus committees, mentors students in the Delta Sigma Pi business fraternity, and promotes student fellowship at Ram Jam events. He has won the last two Quiet Influence Awards from the Student Government Association. In the community, he has been involved with the Chamber of Commerce and Economic Development Advisory Board since his arrival at ASU, and now serves as chairman of the Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. He is also president of the San Angelo Rotary Club and chairman of the Human Relations Committee at Sierra Vista United Methodist Church. From one of his nomination letters, “Everyone who knows Dean Jones can feel his passion for the university; his words and actions speak so loudly that you can’t help but know that he is spirited about Angelo State.”

The Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards were created by San Angelo native and former ASU student Gary Rodgers and his wife, Pat. Because of their association with many ASU employees over the years, the couple recognized the roles that staff, faculty and administrators perform to help ASU fulfill its mission to prepare students to be responsible and productive citizens. The Rodgers also provide the $2,500 honorarium for each award recipient and have fully endowed the Rodgers Awards through the ASU Foundation so they will continue in perpetuity.

Other nominees for the Distinguished Staff Award were Jody Casares, Adra Enos, Russell Howard, Crystal Nelms and Kyrie Ann Villa.

Other nominees for the Distinguished Faculty Award were Jonathan Alvis, Kenna Archer, Anthony Battistini, Tony Blair, Kat Bunker, Charlene Bustos, Gustavo Campos, Leah Carruth, Jenny Davis, Allison Dushane, Carla Ebeling, David Faught, Carlos Flores, Denise Goddard, Eddie Holik III, Avis Johnson-Smith, Crystal Kreitler, Greg Krukonis, Nicole Lozano, Eduardo Martinez, Janet Maxwell, Makensie McCormick, Laurence Musgrove, Corey Owens, Simon Pfeil, Jennifer Price-Fierro, Donna Rich, Leslie Rodriguez, Joseph Satterfield, Christopher Shar, Jennifer Shoemake, Trent Shuey, Warren Simpson, Trey Smith, Twyla Tasker, William Taylor and Mark Tizzoni.

Other nominees for the Distinguished Administrator Award were Becky Brackin, William Kitch and Duane Pruitt.