Skip to Main content

President Search Committee Named

May 29, 2012

Texas Tech University System Chancellor Kent Hance today (May 29) named a search committee to assist in finding the next president of Angelo State University.

“We have an outstanding group of individuals who have been selected to serve on this committee,” Hance said. “Their efforts will be vital in helping us select a new president for Angelo State, and I am confident this search will yield the most qualified candidates in the nation.” 

The eight-member committee is chaired by Mickey L. Long, vice chairman of the Board of Regents and chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Carr Scholarship Foundation. Long, a 1976 graduate of Angelo State, is president of Westex/WLP Well Service. 

“As an alumnus of Angelo State, it is an honor to lead this committee,” Long said.

“Angelo State is an evolving university, and we are determined to find the best leader who will continue the institution’s tradition of excellence and vision for the future.” 

The committee will help identify potential candidates, assist with initial screenings of candidates and ensure that their respective constituency groups are kept up-to-date on the progress of the search. Candidate recommendations will be forwarded on to the chancellor. The final selection will be made by the chancellor, who will seek confirmation of his choice by the Board of Regents. 

Other members of the search committee are: 

Joseph Rallo, Ph.D., who recently was announced as vice chancellor of academic affairs at the Texas Tech University System, will remain president of Angelo State until a replacement is named. A search consultant will be retained to assist with the search committee. 

Angelo State was founded in 1928 and is located in San Angelo, Texas. The institution enrolls more than 7,000 students and offers undergraduate, master’s and doctoral degrees in more than 100 majors and concentrations. Angelo State has five colleges and has been consistently recognized by The Princeton Review as one of the “Best Colleges” in the nation.