Skip to Main content

Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Fall 2020 Inductees

November 19, 2020

Angelo State University’s chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi (PKP) national honor society recently inducted its fall 2020 class of 58 students during a special virtual initiation ceremony on Facebook.

Phi Kappa Phi logo PKP is one of the nation’s most prestigious academic honor societies for students in all academic disciplines. Invitations to join PKP are extended to juniors in the top 7.5% of their class and to seniors and graduate students in the top 10% of their class.

ASU’s chapter has also awarded 22 pre-membership Certificates of Merit to freshmen in the top 2.5% of their class and sophomores in the top 5% of their class in recognition of their academic success and as encouragement to join PKP when they are eligible as juniors.

ASU’s fall 2020 PKP inductees by hometown and major are:

San Angelo: Adam Abramson, mass media; Klaye Coleman, social work; Daniel Dixon, accounting and finance; Gretchen Goldman, nurse educator; Everick Griffin, homeland security; Aidan Henry, chemistry; Amber Hobdy, social work; Abigale Kubala, social work; Morgan Lira, industrial/organizational psychology; Crystal Mendez, Spanish; Lauren Ortiz, coaching, sport, recreation and fitness administration; Hannah Powers, nursing; Anna Schneemann, counseling psychology; Shannon Thompson, coaching, sport, recreation and fitness administration; Deric Valdez, social work; and Kaden Wright, psychology

Abilene: Hope Miller, economics; Amber Price, teacher education; and Eduardo Villarreal, business administration

Amarillo: Darci Duncan, coaching, sport, recreation and fitness administration

Austin: Michael Connor, border/homeland security

Ballinger: Sydney Morris, English; and Justin Sehon, animal science

Barksdale: Micah Vernor, teacher education

Beavercreek, Ohio: Alexa Newland, global security studies

Big Lake: Myriam Gonzalez, health science professions

Blanket: Brianna Andrews, animal science

Brownwood: Lesley Stone, family nurse practitioner

Canadian: Mercades Valenzuela, biology

Colorado City: Kalynn Hardegree, animal science

Columbia, Md.: Mathew Tolbert, intelligence and analysis

Early: Peyton Carey, teacher education

El Paso: Erin Fleming, professional school counseling; and Tara Kroeker, professional school counseling

Fort Worth: Cassidy Martin, psychology; and Susan Tijerina, professional school counseling

Georgetown: Sophia Berg, biology; and Amber Croft, industrial/organizational psychology

Kaneohe, Hawaii: Starla Culp, intelligence and analysis

Katy: Mallory Redmond, curriculum and instruction-teacher studies

Kerrville: Cameron Poole, animal science

Killeen: Tiffany Jackson, professional school counseling

Kyle: Julie Pierce, professional school counseling

League City: Jennifer Carse, educational leadership

Levelland: Christopher Clark, educational leadership

McAllen: Alexis Pemelton, student development and leadership in higher education

McKinney: Austin Buley, mathematics; Hannah Campbell, guidance and counseling; and Hannah Hill, history

Robstown: Priscilla Benavidez, guidance and counseling

San Antonio: Alicia Garcia, professional school counseling; Aaron Munoz, global security studies; and Connie Vick, family nurse practitioner

Santa Anna: Micah Anderson, professional school counseling; and Angelica Calfa, theatre

Sonora: Zeke Galindo, management

Sulphur Bluff: Carmen Dufrene, professional school counseling

Wall: Keoni Balcomb, nursing

ASU freshmen and sophomores receiving fall 2020 PKP Certificates of Merit are:

San Angelo: Chloe Edinburgh, exercise science; Avery Edinburgh, teacher education; Ravae Garcia, biology; Rebekah Heroy, management; Destyne Jimenez, nursing; Mariah Martinez, biology; Mikayla Rodriguez, undeclared; and Rocky Ybarra, psychology

Abilene: Miyazhane Miller, biology; Abigale Soto, management; and Jaylen Winston, computer science

Brady: Dylan Evridge, finance

Brownwood: Patricia Zamora, finance

Fort Worth: Allie Stewart, international business

Goldthwaite: T.J. Watson, history

Iraan: Brianna Yoeun, nursing

Lubbock: Mike Bedsole, criminal justice

San Antonio: Megan DeBerry, intelligence and analysis; and Arua-Lemi Tsatenawa, animal science

Sweetwater: Lily Smola, animal science

Wichita Falls: Autumn Colley, life science

Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam: Tuan Anh Chau, English

Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society encompassing all academic disciplines. It is considered one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies along with Phi Beta Kappa, which recognizes majors in the arts and sciences, and Sigma Xi, which honors majors in the sciences.

Dr. Lesley Casarez, associate professor of curriculum and instruction, is ASU’s PKP chapter president. The student vice presidents are Kacelyn Follis of Blackwell and Giovanna Scott of San Angelo.

For more information, contact Casarez at 325-486-6775 or