Skip to Main content

Chemistry Student Group Earns National Honor

November 09, 2021

Angelo State University’s student chapter of the American Chemical Society (ACS) has received a Commendable Award from the national ACS Committee on Education for the chapter’s activities during the 2020-21 academic year.

This marks the 17th straight year the ASU chapter has received a year-end award from the national ACS, including two previous Outstanding Awards, 12 Commendable Awards and two Honorable Mention Awards. Only 123 of the more than 450 student chapters in the U.S. received a Commendable or higher award for 2020-21.

For its Commendable Award, the ASU chapter was recognized for its participation in chemistry outreach activities, attendance at national meetings, and fundraising and social events. Chapter members annually take part in Earth Day and National Chemistry Week activities. They also conduct a campus speaker program, have regular fundraising events, and frequently include local and area high school students in their activities. Members also present their research at various organizational meetings, including the national ACS and Texas Academy of Science.

Dr. Edith Osborne Dr. Edith Osborne “We are very proud of the students for hosting a variety of informative speakers, holding social gatherings, and reaching out to the community under the constraints of the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Dr. Edith Osborne, professor of chemistry and ACS faculty advisor. “The chapter adapted to the constraints by making changes, such as hosting speakers online and making take-home kits for one of the San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts drive-thru Family Days.”

The ASU chapter and other award-winning chapters will be honored at the ACS National Meeting and Exposition in March 2022 in San Diego, Calif. A list of the award-winning chapters will also be published in Chemical & Engineering News and the inChemistry student magazine.

Tuan Nguyen of San Angelo was the student president of the ASU chapter for 2020-21, and Alexandria Kemp of San Angelo is president for 2021-22. The faculty sponsors are Osborne and Kevin Boudreaux, senior instructor in chemistry.