Skip to Main content

Fall 2021 Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Inductees

December 03, 2021

Angelo State University’s chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi (PKP) national honor society recently inducted its fall 2021 class of 86 students during a special virtual initiation ceremony on Facebook.

PKP is the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for students in all academic disciplines. Invitations to join PKP are extended to juniors in the top 7.5% of their class and to seniors and graduate students in the top 10% of their class.

ASU’s chapter has also awarded 36 pre-membership Certificates of Merit to freshmen in the top 2.5% of their class and sophomores in the top 5% of their class in recognition of their academic success and as encouragement to join PKP when they are eligible as juniors.

ASU’s fall 2021 PKP inductees by hometown and major are:

San Angelo: Zazu Stephania Abraham, student development and leadership in higher education; Glory Bergmans, social work; Ashley Bishop, educational leadership; Carly Brown, teacher education; James Bautista, accounting/biology; Miranda Chavez, English; Laura Childs, educational leadership; Jan Chitsey, communication; Kimberly Cobb, educational leadership; Bethany Cross, professional school counseling; John-Nathanael Caesar, intelligence and analysis; Hailey Dodson, political science; Dillon Duermyer, economics; Megan Eckhardt, animal science; Kaitlyn Jimenez Huizar, psychology/biology; Sarah Lewis, homeland security; Sandra Lindsey, management; Robert Moorehead Jr.; global security studies; Mary Reyes, business administration; Charlsi Rivero, educational administration; Jeffrey Roth, biology; Sara Searsy, counseling psychology; Madeleine Trees, English; and Maleeka Williams, psychology

Abilene: Monica Ford, educational leadership; and Jacob Lyda, educational leadership

Arlington: Krista Hanks, professional school counseling

Austin: Devon Miller, student development and leadership in higher education

Ballinger: Darcy Cauley, educational leadership

Bellevue, Neb.: Christopher Bartlett, global security studies

Brownfield: Mikaela Oliver, mass media

Brownsville: Taylor Esteves, professional school counseling

Brownwood: Amy Bertrand, professional school counseling

Canadian: Adam Jones, educational leadership

Carlsbad: Kenzie Jordan, biology/psychology

Cedar Hill: Arthur Barclay Jr., homeland security

Cedar Park: Patricia Beck, student development and leadership in higher education

Celina: Lezlie Torres, educational leadership

Cleburne: Alicia Gabrielson, professional school counseling

Copperas Cove: Tyler Stokes, mathematics

Del Rio: Karina Delgado, business administration

Eagle River, Alaska: Charles Harris, global security studies

El Paso: Jimena Montes Anchondo, educational leadership

Fort Worth: Terri Woodliff, applied psychology

Garden City: Rodrigo Luna, biology

Georgetown: Laura Bettin, professional school counseling; Stephanie Cooper, professional school counseling; Reilly Lawrence, health science professions; Ryan Neitsch, exercise science; and Ross Regan, economics

Houston: Rachel Collett, applied psychology; and Toby Dagenhart, business administration

Ingram: Kalyn Stephens, natural resource management

Katy: Megan Frazier-Johnson, professional school counseling

Kingsland: Jose Arredondo, student development and leadership in higher education

Liberty Hill: Kara Kasberg, professional school counseling

Loraine: Esperanza Salinas, nursing-family nurse practitioner

Lubbock: Natalie Fierro, social work; Cole Strain, nursing-family nurse practitioner; and Lindsey Larremore, healthcare administration

Lytle: Jennifer Maldonado, professional school counseling

Matador: Carley Turner, agribusiness/accounting

Mesquite: Jarielle Nabors, global security studies

Mission: Ricardo Rosas, criminal justice; and Yesenia Trevino, professional school counseling

New Braunfels: Amber Gillum, professional school counseling

Palestine: Ricardo Benitez, biology

Pecos: Abi Porras, experimental psychology

Philadelphia, Penn.: Sarah Gafgen, business administration

Richmond: Allison Bayles, professional school counseling

Round Rock: Nicole Mendez, student development and leadership in higher education; and Kendra Witherspoon, professional school counseling

San Antonio: Megan Brito, nursing-family nurse practitioner; April Hernandez, mental health and wellness counseling; Gabriela Solis, nursing-nurse educator; and Jasmine Perez, social work

Seguin: Donald Hastings, applied psychology

Selma: Linda Larson, educational leadership

Snyder: Emily Birdwell, educational leadership

Temple: Apolonia Crawford, professional school counseling

Trophy Club: Angelina Fortner, applied psychology

Troy: Rhonda Sommer, professional school counseling

Waco: Khanh Le Hoang Nguyen, professional accountancy

Wylie: Sandra Rodgers-Tomeo, administrative leadership

Yakima, Wash.: Raylene Lacaman, professional school counseling

Osimo, Italy: Dr. Gianluca Tamberi, business administration

ASU freshmen and sophomores receiving fall 2021 PKP Certificates of Merit are:

San Angelo: Mikaela Avila, chemistry/biochemistry; Jacob Brody, engineering; Gavin Cardwell, mechanical engineering; Hailey Hawkins, biology; Elayna Luckey, chemistry; Mya Moore, pre-medicine; Hannah Robinson, nursing; Kassadee Rodriguez, nursing; Siwoo Park, computer science; and Austin Trevino, psychology/biology

Abilene: Andrew Milam, history; and Arianna Ruiz, biology

Andrews: Villyana Vargas, nursing

Boerne: Grace Mroz, nursing

Corpus Christi: Jaina McKenzie, accounting

Del Rio: Alejandra Saldivar, agribusiness

Eden: Alaina Torres, chemistry

El Paso: Katherine Spitzer, English with teacher certification

Eunice, N.M.: Faith Hobbs, early childhood education

Fort Worth: Hannah Jones, studio art

Fredericksburg: Julissa Sanchez, criminal justice

Grandview: Sadie Stanford, communication

Katy: Drake Ladig, agribusiness; and Clay Loper, management

Llano: Abigail Clopton, animal science

Lorena: Jordyn Linnstaedter, accounting/criminal justice

Lubbock: Kaci Wainscott, history with teacher certification

Midland: Mason Barnhill, computer science; and Maggie Brockman, marketing

Miles: Katelynn Graves, biology

Mountain View, Hawaii: Miriam Guevara, English

Odessa: Carson Cabral, finance

Rockdale: Chloe Rundell, natural resource management

Stanton: Cooper Sims, marketing/finance

Twin Falls, Idaho: Deztiny Montero, physics

Seoungnam, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea: Taewoon Choi, computer science

PKP is considered one of the nation’s most prestigious academic honorary societies along with Phi Beta Kappa, which recognizes majors in the arts and sciences, and Sigma Xi, which honors majors in the sciences.

Dr. Tia Agan, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction, is ASU’s PKP chapter president. The student vice president is Cassidy Martin of Fort Worth.