Skip to Main content

Alpha Chi Honor Society Spring 2022 Inductees

April 13, 2022

Angelo State University’s chapter of the Alpha Chi national honor society recently inducted 20 new members for the spring 2022 semester during a ceremony in the Houston Harte University Center.

Alpha Chi is one of the nation’s most prestigious honor societies that is open to students majoring in all academic disciplines. To be eligible, students must rank in the top 10% of seniors at their college or university, or in the top 7.5% of juniors.

ASU’s spring 2022 inductees by hometown and major are:

San Angelo: Kathleen Apperson, interdisciplinary studies; Kendra Hoover, management; Mya Moore, biology; Lauryn Pitcock, accounting; and Gracie Strange, psychology

Abilene: Andrew Milam, history

Ballinger: David McDaniel, biology

Brookesmith: Laramie Nelson, nursing

El Paso: Katherine Spitzer, English

Georgetown: Ryan Neitsch, kinesiology

Kerrville: Alexia Perez, psychology

Midland: Mason Barnhill, computer science

Minot AFB, N.D.: Dylan Bringham, management

Robert Lee: Garrett Knight, animal science

Rule: Ian Sotelo, computer science

Sadler: Colleen Billmeier, kinesiology

Temple: Emily Freemyer, health science professions

Seoul, South Korea: Hayeun Choi, criminal justice; and Yoo Jin Choi, physics

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam: Duc Trung Nguyen, mathematics

Additionally, two current ASU Alpha Chi students won scholarships at the recent Alpha Chi National Convention in Austin. Thi Thu Huong Vo, a mathematics major from Thai Binh, Vietnam, won a $3,000 scholarship – and Morgan Preston of Vicksburg, Michigan, won a $1,000 scholarship. ASU students Kaitlyn Huizar of San Antonio, Tressa Reading of Uvalde, and Anthony Sarmiento and Price Tarbet of Big Spring gave research presentations, and Dr. Dennis Hall, assistant professor of mathematics, was elected secretary-treasurer of Alpha Chi Region I and will serve on the Alpha Chi National Council.

ASU is located in Alpha Chi Region I, and Dr. Karl Havlak, College of Science and Engineering, is the head faculty advisor for the ASU chapter. Additional faculty advisors are Dr. Charlene Bustos for the College of Education, Dr. Dennis Hall for the College of Science and Engineering, Dr. Veronica Snow for the Archer College of Health and Human Services, Dr. Leslie Rodriguez for the College of Arts and Humanities, and Dr. Satvir Singh for the Norris-Vincent College of Business. Havlak is also secretary of the Alpha Chi National Council.