Skip to Main content

Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Spring 2022 Inductees

April 26, 2022

Phi Kappa Phi Medals

Angelo State University’s chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi (PKP) national honor society recently inducted its spring 2022 class of 57 new student members during a special virtual initiation ceremony on Facebook.

PKP is the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for students in all academic disciplines. Invitations to join PKP are extended to juniors in the top 7.5% of their class, and to seniors and graduate students in the top 10% of their class.

ASU’s chapter has also awarded 29 pre-membership Certificates of Merit to freshmen in the top 2.5% of their class and sophomores in the top 5% of their class in recognition of their academic success and as encouragement to join PKP when they are eligible as juniors.

ASU’s spring 2022 PKP inductees by hometown and major are:

San Angelo: Kathleen Apperson, interdisciplinary studies; Candra Barnett, exercise science; Johnathan “Broc” Blasingame, intelligence and analysis; Dylan Bringham, management; Calista Gibson, international business; Kendra Hoover, management; Bailey King, political science; Mariah Martinez, biology/chemistry; Alexia Perez, psychology; Melissa Perez, accounting; William Pippin, I/O psychology; Gracie Strange, psychology; and Michaela Zimmerman, music/mathematics

Alpine: Kassandra Acosta, homeland security

Anderson: Kimberly Ross, professional school counseling

Azle: Carrie Alano, professional school counseling

Bastrop: Kendall Smith, professional school counseling

Big Spring: Christian Lugo, MBA healthcare administration

Blackwell: Madison Solis, health science professions

Brady: Teri Trull, criminal justice

Cedar Park: Jennifer Evans, professional school counseling

Comanche: Lindsay Furlong, professional school counseling

Corpus Christi: Breanna Trevino, athletic training

Dallas: Julia Seago, physical therapy

Derwood, Md.: Guy Taylor, global security studies

Donna: Julie-Ann Segura, student development and leadership in higher education

Dripping Springs: Christina Neffendorf, professional school counseling

El Paso: Cesar Marquez, professional school counseling

Farmers Branch: Marisol Nichols, professional school counseling

Farmersville: Sandra Simons, professional school counseling

Fort Worth: Heather Brown, professional school counseling

Friona: Lizbeth Rojas, nursing

Frisco: Kimberley McFarland, professional school counseling

Haskell: Katelyn Hudson, studio art; and Areli Torres, kinesiology

Houston: Michelle Gershenson, psychology

Kerrville: Allison Carroll, educational leadership; and Nicole Smith, nursing

Laredo: Alyssa Nunez, educational leadership

League City: Vanesa Ng, professional school counseling

Lubbock: James Tipton Barnes, MBA healthcare administration

Manvel: Ashley Corbett, professional school counseling

May: Shannon Dennis, economics/marketing

Miles: Ana Hernandez Sanchez, international business

Paint Rock: William Hennig, physics/mathematics

Roanoke: Tara Furr, professional school counseling

Roaring Springs: Autumn Perryman, animal science

Robert Lee: Kelby Clawson, nursing; and Garrett Knight, animal science

Spearman: Peyton Black, accounting/economics

Temple: Emily Freemyer, health science professions

The Woodlands: Colton Rowe, exercise science

Traverse City, Mich.: Katherine Homminga, student development and leadership in higher education

Vicksburg, Mich.: Morgan Preston, English/philosophy

Wichita Falls: Philip Collier, criminal justice

ASU freshmen and sophomores receiving spring 2022 PKP Certificates of Merit are:

San Angelo: Gavin Cardwell, border and homeland security; Jeorge Concepcion, nursing; Daisy Herr, history; Janelle Hudson, accounting; Ava James, management information systems; Siwoo Park, computer science; Hannah Robinson, nursing; Kassadee Rodriguez, nursing; and Garrett Underwood, border and homeland security

Amarillo: Jaedyn Woolley, management

Canyon: Carlee Henderson, health science professions

Carlsbad: Katie Cooper, studio art

Cimarron, Kan.: Kirstyn Nestor, border and homeland security

Clyde: Kadyn Kevil, psychology

Corpus Christi: Jaina McKenzie, accounting

Eunice, N.M.: Faith Hobbs, teacher education

Fredericksburg: Julissa Sanchez, criminal justice

Gorman: Agustin Ramos VI, accounting

Katy: Abijah Tongson, nursing

Kingwood: Reagan DeSpain, animal science

Mountain View, Hawaii: Miriam Guevara, English

San Antonio: Daijah Anguiano, social work

Seguin: Brooke Wieland, health science professions

Sweetwater: Jonathan Gallegos, criminal justice

Twin Falls, S.D.: Deztiny Montero, physics

Von Ormy: Leigh Aldridge, animal science

Seoul, South Korea: John Lee, mathematics

Suncheon, Jeollanamdo, South Korea: Seungmi Kim, management

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam: Trung Nguyen, physics

The ASU chapter also won a 2022 Phi Kappa Phi Week Award. During the first week of February, chapters were encouraged to celebrate member achievements and host activities that increased chapter awareness on their campus. ASU’s chapter was one of only four chapters to win an award for its activities, which included a marketing campaign on Facebook and the campus monitors in the Houston Harte University Center.

PKP is considered one of the nation’s most prestigious academic honorary societies along with Phi Beta Kappa, which recognizes majors in the arts and sciences, and Sigma Xi, which honors majors in the sciences.

Dr. Tia Agan, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction, is ASU’s PKP chapter president. The student vice presidents are Cassidy Martin of Fort Worth and Ricardo Benitez of Palestine.