Skip to Main content

2021-22 Order of the Sword & Shield Inductees

May 09, 2022

Angelo State University’s chapter of the Order of the Sword & Shield national honor society recently inducted 28 new student members for the 2021-22 academic year.

The Order of the Sword & Shield is the only academic and professional honor society dedicated exclusively to cybersecurity, homeland security, intelligence, emergency management and all protective security disciplines. The ASU chapter was chartered in 2015 and is one of only 92 Official Academic Chapters in the U.S., including just five chapters in Texas.

To be eligible for induction, students must be majoring in homeland security, intelligence or other protective security field at an accredited institution of higher education, and must have completed at least 50% of the credit hours required for graduation. Undergraduate students must have at least a 3.25 grade point average (GPA), and graduate students must have at least a 3.5 GPA. Students are inducted by invitation and only after recommendation by at least two faculty members.

The 2021-22 ASU student inductees, by hometown and major, are:

San Angelo: Bailey Anderson, homeland security; Johnathan “Broc” Blasingame, intelligence and analysis; Abigail Borrego, border and homeland security; Jonathan Nelson, homeland security; Alexandrea Sedeño, criminal justice; and Nathan Showers, intelligence and analysis

Alpine: Kassandra Jo Acosta, homeland security

Austin: Victor Cardenas, intelligence and analysis; and Jeffrey Norwood, global security studies

Cleveland: Brett Estes, global security studies

Colorado Springs, Colo.: Lauren Rich, intelligence and analysis

Fairfax Station, Va.: Jasmine Perpignan, intelligence and analysis

Kaneohe, Hawaii: Starla Culp, intelligence and analysis

Mesquite: Denisha Dunn, intelligence and analysis; and Jarielle Nabors, global security studies

Missouri City: Donavan Moses, border and homeland security

North Richland Hills: Samantha Leigh Boyer, intelligence and analysis

Ondenton, Md.: Alice Sparacin, intelligence and analysis

Prosper: Ananias Mayes, intelligence and analysis

Sacramento, Calif.: Aimee Ivanoff, intelligence and analysis

San Antonio: Julie Burnett, intelligence and analysis; Madison Callison, criminal justice; and Jazlyn Hope Caza, intelligence and analysis

Sterling City: Leslie Mackie, criminal justice

Strawn: Allyssa Mahone, criminal justice

Wichita Falls: Kyle Collier, criminal justice

Woodbridge, Va.: John Smithberger, intelligence and analysis

Yorktown, Va.: Sierra Richardson, intelligence and analysis

Headquartered at St. John’s University in New York, the Order of the Sword & Shield was formed in 2010 and is also known as Omicron Sigma Sigma. The ASU chapter president is Brett Lane of San Angelo. The faculty advisor is Dr. Eduardo Martinez, instructor of intelligence and analysis.